Day 85 – Summertime Fun

29 Jun

Several of you suggested that I try to do some action shots for my next theme and so I went out today hunting for some action. Man, that sounds kind of racy! But you know what I mean. We scoured every area we could think of looking for inspiration and started out our journey at Cherokee Park in Louisville. It is a HUGE park, I mean seriously huge and while it is very pretty, inspiration wasn’t jumping out at me until we stopped to take a photo of a fountain on the playground.

As I was walking up I said to Beth “I wish there were kids playing in it! But I am going to try to catch the different motion of the water” so I set out playing with exposure when all of a sudden these two little girls that had been swinging came running over to play. I had to include some shots of the smallest girl because she was absolutely adorable, but I also included one shot where I kept it on a long exposure time and shot them doing the “shower dance” as they kept yelling at their mom. The dance involved them throwing their hands above their heads and shaking their hips side to side and I think in the last shot you get that sense of movement.

Hope you enjoy the shots as much as I did taking them, these two girls made our entire trip to the park worth while!

Sisters playing in the fountain

Sisters playing in the fountain

First venture into the cold water!

First venture into the cold water!

Happy as a clam

Happy as a clam

The shower dance

The shower dance

12 Responses to “Day 85 – Summertime Fun”

  1. Susan June 29, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    These are terrific! I love the gracefulness of the older girl in that first picture, while the younger one is so excited. I think the second one may be my favorite. Anyone who knows how dang hot it was around here can feel the refreshing drops spraying on her. You can see the water rolling off her and kicking up at her feet. In that last one you can see movement alright. 😉

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      Thank you!! They were just having so much fun and I am so glad I was there to capture it 🙂

  2. BILL June 29, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    and there ya go… Action shots! The 2nd one is very cool. Her expression is so cute! The Shower Dance really captures the girls at play. Love that blurrrr effect. 2nd one is my favorite… You can feel the anticipation of the cold water shocking the skin… Great Job!

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      Than you Bill 🙂 I haven’t mastered the action shot yet but this is good homework for me!

  3. Swapmeet Louie June 29, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I really like these pics, especially the last one! You can’t see their faces but you can just tell that they are loving the fountain. Their mo was probably thinking “Man, I should’ve brought a bar of soap cuz this is the only way to get them to take a bath!”

    Lovely!

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:04 am #

      How dirty do you think those little girls were?!?!? LOL!!!

  4. Shirl June 29, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Mindy, I love these pictures. Not only did you capture the action, but the joy of the little girls as well.

  5. bonnie June 29, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    fun shots! You did a good job capturing the fun 🙂

  6. Paul R. Giunta June 30, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    This looks like so much fun!! What I would give to spend an afternoon playing like this!

  7. Kathy July 1, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    These pics are Summer! I love them.

Leave a comment

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB