Week #5 – Gratitude

29 May

I was supposed to post this with my group Project #52 on Tuesday but I wanted to wait until today because I knew what I wanted to photograph. Today is Memorial Day, which is a U.S. holiday that pays tribute to all the service men and women that lost their lives during military service. For myself and most Americans it is a day to honor and celebrate all the men and women who protect and serve our country, which for me is much more fitting. I can’t think of too many other things to be more grateful for than these men and women who sacrifice so much to serve their country.

My mom, my sister, my aunt, and myself took the opportunity today to visit the New Albany National Cemetery, which lays to rest veterans from 7 different battles, as well as the cemetery where several family members are buried including my dad. It was a humbling experience standing in the National Cemetery and I couldn’t help but feeling overwhelmed with gratitude.

It was a wonderful day to pay tribute to not only the men and woman who have served our country but our loved ones as well.

11 Responses to “Week #5 – Gratitude”

  1. cathy ross May 29, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    What a beautiful tribute Mindy…the processing on the black and white image with the american flag in color is awesome!! Hope you are having a great weekend!!

  2. Kathy May 29, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Mind, you never fail to amaze me with your talent. Just looking at your pictures tells a story about you. Your passion for life, art and people.
    I was in awe with the first picture.
    I imagined so much history when I looked at that grave marker.
    Thank you once again for capturing time in your photography.
    I love you!

  3. Kerri May 30, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    FANTASTIC post my friend! Makes my teary!

  4. Susan May 30, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    All three are great, but that first one is amazing. “Unknown Soldier” .. makes me sad.

  5. Whitney Taylor June 1, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Wow! What powerful photos and moving subject. I think the first photo is my favorite!

  6. schleefy June 2, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    the second one and the B/W are my favorite. Your post is amazing.
    The unknown soldier is very sad…..

  7. Barbara June 3, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    A simple, beautiful reminder of how much we lose in war, and how amazing it is that so many give up their lives to protect and serve their country. Heroes all.

    Tragic and powerful.

    Well done Mindy – very thoughtful and well-composed.

  8. pearlsandprose June 3, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    What a lovely tribute. Seven battles–that is sobering.

  9. Sana Johnson-Quijada MD June 16, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    moving post and pics. thank u mindy. u send us awash in thought and feeling.

  10. Missy June 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Beautiful pictures thanks for sharing with us. I hope things are going well for you guys as well. 😉

  11. pearlsandprose June 23, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Everything OK with you and yours?

Leave a comment

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB