Week #4 Senior Portraits

17 May

I am still doing the Project 52 with some friends but I needed to post one just for myself this week as well.

If you follow me at all you know I struggle with portrait photography, and if you are new to my site  let me tell you this, I struggle with portrait photography!  I am not sure what it is about this type of shoot that makes me uncomfortable or uninspired but I have really tried very hard to overcome this mental block. I have turned to  photography friends Paul and Jon for pointers and tips and while I have taken to heart everything that I have learned from them,  I still find myself dreading the prospect of portrait work.

This week I must have had a break through. I took my niece out for her senior portraits and I had a blast. I was probably more comfortable directing her since I know her but I felt at ease tell her to move around and changing any shot that I didn’t think worked. We even tried several locations and it was a great time. The fact that she is beautiful helped quite a bit but so far the ones that I have edited have turned out really great, if I do say so myself.

The real test will come when she sees the finished product as she is very picky about photos of herself, but I am excited to share them and I am equally as excited that I came away from the experience feeling more confident and positive about portrait photography than I ever have.

11 Responses to “Week #4 Senior Portraits”

  1. Paul R. Giunta May 23, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    You know I am glad to help anytime!

    Great start by the way!

  2. mindy May 23, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL!!! great picture and beautiful girlie!

  3. bonniegunkel May 23, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Well she certainly is beautiful, but that runs in your family 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better about your portraits. This one is great.

  4. Jon May 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Mindy – she is going to LOVE that picture. Great job. The eyes look great (which to me is the most important part of most portraits). I think what you mentioned is what it is all about – feeling comfortable with the person. Have fun with portraits, take some time to talk and get to know them and it all get’s easier. Great job!!

  5. Pattyann May 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Love the texture in that shot!! It looks great!!

  6. Whitney Taylor May 23, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I love this!!! You did a great job!! She does look a little naked though… Other than that, there’s nothing you should change! It looks great!

  7. eFe May 24, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Hi Mindy! I think when we face the challenges most feared is that we make greater achievements. This week also put myself doing portraits, and was not that great! Congratulations for the picture, was very good!

  8. Barbara May 25, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Your niece is beautiful, but you’ve shone a light on her soul – at least that’s how it looks to me. Love this shot, the gritty background sets off her soft and gentle appearance. You certainly did a super job Mindy! Hope she loved it.

  9. pearlsandprose May 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Good for you! This is beautiful.
    I haven’t done portraits for years, so understand how you feel. Will have to fight my way out of that comfort zone soon.

  10. schleefy May 26, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    That is an awesome portrait and your niece is really cute….

  11. Missy May 27, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Beautiful girl and picture. Thanks for sharing. I hope all is going better with you guys 😉

Leave a comment

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB