Day 84 – Up on the Hill

28 Jun

So, I have one more barn photo. I thought I was done but I guess I am not, and I liked this shot so I had to share it. I am not going to say I won’t be revisiting the barn thing soon but I promise I am done after this one for a while 🙂

I love the textures in this one and the pops of red from the fencing and of course the fact that it is a barn really toots my horn. I didn’t do too much with this shot besides tweaking the contrast and adding a little definition with clarity to the details and I think it is quite lovely. Thanks for baring with me while I explored my  barn love and if you have any suggestions for my next point of interest please share, I am feeling a little uninspired.

Up on the Hill

Up on the Hill

15 Responses to “Day 84 – Up on the Hill”

  1. Terri Jacobson June 28, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    I love how the fence leads up to the barn. Another barn with great character.

  2. Swapmeet Louie June 28, 2010 at 3:08 am #

    I do love that red fence! Another fine shot here! Despite how run down the barn and surroundings are, the picture makes me feel clean and fresh. Can’t explain it.

    I have a suggestion for your next point of interest… you get this ball, you know?

    • mindymilburn June 28, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      You and that ball!!! LMAO

      I like how you describe it, I think it is the blue skies and white clouds that make it feel clean because I feel the same way.

  3. Susan June 28, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Yes, another beautiful shot. I’ve enjoyed the barn series. Funny how they seem to be falling apart, yet appear so stately. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

    • mindymilburn June 28, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Thank you, I have enjoyed it too. Any suggestions on what you would like to see?

  4. kimhannigan June 28, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    What a perfectly framed picture! I love how the fence invites you in to the photo. And I also love the color of the roof against that gorgeous sky. Another great add to the barn series. I’ve really liked this week 😀 What’s next?

    • mindymilburn June 28, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      Thank you, I forgot to add that the fence was only on one side of the shot, I cloned it to the other side because I wanted to create that feeling of being drawn in.

      And I am looking for suggestions for next week!!!

  5. Stasia June 28, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    How about action shots? People in the midst of doing stuff. These are some of my favorite photos. I took one at the Ren Faire a few years ago of a guy doing a belly flop into a mud pit and managed to get him in mid-air right above the mud!!

    The Ren Faire would be a good place to go to get shots like this but I would think the park on a sunny day would be nice too.

    And speaking of – perhaps THAT should be your next theme – sunny day shots. Especially since we’ve had to many lately.

    • mindymilburn June 28, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      I do love actions shots 🙂 and I would LOVE to go to a con or Ren Faire to take photos. Sunny days are my nemisis though. All I can do is shoot on auto or AV mode. I have yet to master it. But I will try 😀

  6. BILL June 28, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I love this shot and this barn. Beautiful warm sunny day, with a few clouds and a gentle breeze…. You can almost smell the cow plop. Awesome! (This would make a great scratch and sniff picture!!)

    Call me a purest.. call me George… but I’m not a fan of ‘adding’ and ‘cloning’ things into a picture that aren’t there.

    THANKS for this BARN SERIES.. Can’t wait for the next round!!!

    I like the idea of ACTION SHOTS for your next gig. Freeze action and BLURRRRRRRR are fun to explore.. like that guy that threw water, a cat, and a bunch of stuff in the air, and froze it perfectly… I love stuff like that…

  7. mindymilburn June 28, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Scratch and sniff BLEH you are a odd man Bill LOL

    There are very competing ideas about the use of photoshop but I love it, anything I can add to a photo to make it what I wanted is my creation. I understand the “purist” thought process but I enjoy playing in photoshop almost as much as I do taking photos.

    I will have to look into the action thing, not sure where I will find that much action but we shall see lol. Cats in the air, hmm that might freak me out!

  8. Allison June 28, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    You really do like barns! 😉

    What about taking shots of stuff that you use in everyday life? Stuff that you wouldn’t think about taking a picture of?

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:02 am #

      I like this idea, I might have to use it next week. Thanks Aly!

  9. Kathy July 1, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    The clouds are an amazing canvas for this beautiful barn,

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

