Day 86 – BMX Track

30 Jun

Trying to capture more action we headed over to the BMX track to watch the kids rid around on the track. It was a beautiful day (a tad hot) and the kids looked like they were having fun and working hard. I tried a technique that I have talked about before in my blog using TV mode and panning with the moving subject. I had to do it several times before I got a decent result but this is a very nice technique to use when you want to capture motion in a photo.

Using TV Mode to capture motion.

Using TV Mode to capture motion.

This next photo is a teeny little boy that was keeping up with the big kids and he could not have been cuter. He was so tiny you could barely see him going around the track unless he was right in front of you but he was having the best time. I think they let him lap alone because he was never riding with the big boys but you can guarantee in a few years he will be showing them all up on that track.

Tiny BMXer

Tiny BMXer

I had to include this last shot of the star of the day. He was doing all the jumps and stunts and this shot sums up the attitude surrounding him. They all looked on as he flew through the air and you could tell he was someone they all looked up to. He was fun to watch and hopefully we will go back to shoot again when they have an actual competition going on.

The star of the track

The star of the track

16 Responses to “Day 86 – BMX Track”

  1. Susan June 30, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    You know I usually don’t like “blur” but I love that first shot! You captured the motion perfectly, nice job. The kids are cute! Glad to see they’re all wearing helmets. Years ago my damn fool of a son used to try stuff like that without one. But back then they all did.

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:16 am #

      I am surprised and thrilled that you like the blurred shot, I know you usually don’t dig on it 🙂 I would freak out with no helmet so thankfully the track rules require it, but then again we used to ride in the back of pick-up truck beds too like we were invincible. LOL!!!

  2. bonniegunkel June 30, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    These are very cool Mindy! Yet another thing for me to strive for one day in the great beyond! 🙂

    • mindymilburn June 30, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you, I am sure your camera has TV mode.. so just practice and viola! 🙂

  3. BILL June 30, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Awesome!! Love that first shot. Great affect

    • mindymilburn July 1, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you, that one will take me some time to perfect but I love doing it.

  4. Terri Jacobson June 30, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    These are awesome Mindy. I love the panning shot, the kid looks like he is really hauling.

    • mindymilburn July 1, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      Thank you Terri, they were going so fast it took me like 6 tries to even get the motion remotely down lol

  5. Paul R. Giunta June 30, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I love the first photograph! Great capture!

  6. bonnie June 30, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Great motion shots!

  7. Beth June 30, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I love the ‘blur’ shot…..but where is ‘brown shorts guy’ :)It was an awesome day, I can’t wait until we can do it again.

    • mindymilburn July 1, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      Brown shorts guy LMAO!! We do that all the time, and YES I can’t wait to go out again soon. Where are all your fabulous sunset shots?

  8. kimhannigan June 30, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    The first shot is so very cool, I love it! I am going to have to add that to my list of techniques to try…I remember you did this with Bailey before and I loved it 🙂 Nice job again girl!

    • mindymilburn July 1, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks Kimmy, I remember reading about it and thinking…HUH? LOL but it really is a fun technique. We stood on the bridge and tried to get passing cars but they were going WAY too fast for me.

Leave a comment

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB