Week #2 – Perspective

4 May

It is a good thing that I decided to do a Project 52 because even posting once a week has proven to be difficult. Work, taking care of mom, and several side projects have really taken over my life lately. I try to stop in on twitter once in a while just to stay connected but it seems that all my friends there are crazy busy as well. At least I feel better knowing that I am not alone! It must be in the air 🙂

It has still been nasty and raining around here but we are supposed to be getting some sunshine this week and I am looking forward to it. The flooding in our area was getting bad and very dangerous so we really need the rain to go on hiatus. I like a rainy day but only if I can stay in curled up with a good book or the remote control.

The photo I am posting today is another cemetery shot on yes another rainy day. I have found myself drawn to cemeteries lately and I am not sure why. I love really old places with beautiful stones and monuments. I love looking at the dates and finding last names that I have never heard of.

20 Responses to “Week #2 – Perspective”

  1. Jackie May 4, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Oh Mindy, you captured 2 of my favorite things, clouds and trees! This photo is gorgeous with the strong trunk and delicate branches and leaves set against the oninous sky…just gorgeous!

    Sending love to your mom and her beautifl family.

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      The tree is what made me stop to take the photo, it just towered over the whole cemetery 🙂 Thank you for the compliment and the sweet love to my family. MWAH!!

  2. Jacqueline May 4, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Beautiful, moody image!

  3. Susan May 4, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Whatever it is you do to these pictures makes them more foreboding in a way, but in some ways not so much, it’s like they aren’t “real”. I will be glad when the sun comes out and you post a bright and shiny photo full of hope .. the damn weather has everyone at wits end.

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      I am looking for that sunshine too 🙂

      The processing on the shots is called HDR, where you take several shots with different exposures and then you combine them in a photo editing software to accentuate the highlights and low lights, In short this is what it really looked like with a little more contrast in the photo 🙂

      BRING ON THE SUN 🙂

  4. Kerri May 4, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    It’s a GREAT shot Mindy! Continued thoughts and prayers for you and your Mom!!

  5. schleefy May 4, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    WOW. Great HDR…!!! I really like the process of your photos…and I am missing the daily ones…;-)
    I am also behind reading all blogs and my twitter timeline…but I will be back on track….latest on the weekend…*bg*

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Thank you so much my friend, it is so kind of you to say you are missing my photos 🙂 Everyone is so crazy busy lately it is hard to keep up and I do appreciate you coming by 🙂

  6. mindy May 4, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    beautiful shot mindy! cemeteries CREEP me out… it’s like i can feel all the souls there pressing on me. s.p.o.o.k.y

    • mindymilburn May 4, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      They creep me out too LOL! But they are somehow very beautiful to me as well. Thank you sweetie for the compliment!

  7. Jim Reed May 4, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Great shot Mindy! Hang in there, hope everything gets better for you soon.

  8. dpixel365 May 4, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Fabulous capture..

  9. pearlsandprose May 4, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Oh, this is wonderful! The composition and processing are just perfect.

  10. Cathy Ross May 4, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    What an amazing shot my Friend!! It’s seriously gorgeous and the processing fantastic!!

  11. Whitney Taylor May 5, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Love this! These shots are great! I am SO SO SO behind too. I don’t know what is going on lately!

  12. eFe May 5, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Hi Mindy! congratulations on starting the project 52. Since February I am participating as well, but we created a Brazilian version. Few photographers, but the result is great. I was wondering if I would accompany our themes, would be an interesting foreign participation in our group, what do you think? Posted on Tuesdays. Well, I invite you, let me know if you find interesting! 😉 @ fhturismo PS.: sorry for the English mounted on google translator.

  13. Shari May 6, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Playing a little catch up today.
    Love the shot. Fresh, new contrasted with old, death.
    Cemeteries are interesting places.

  14. Jon May 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Nice shot Mindy. I love the lighting on the ground and the clouds are great. I’m pulling for you and the family – “busy” seems to be everywhere right now too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

