Week #1 – I’m Back!!

24 Apr

I find the fact that I chose today to start posting again very fitting since I started my 365 journey last year on Easter as well. I must be particularly inspired by this day.

As most of you know I finished my 365 a few weeks ago and I really needed a break, then my family life got crazy so I was forced to take a break whether I wanted to or not. I wasn’t sure what my plan was going to be once things slowed down but I finally decided to commit to a 52 week project and post in between if I felt the need in the photography category. This plan will give me the choice to take a break if I want to or post as much as I like, and I have to say I have missed blogging and interacting with all of you very much.

If you will indulge me for a bit I will catch those of you that don’t know up on what has been going on with my family. My sister hurt her back so badly that she is still off from work and in a lot of pain, my mom unexpectedly went into the hospital for bypass surgery and although she is doing really well it was probably the scariest thing that has ever happened to me,  and tragically my niece and nephew had to terminate the pregnancy of their second child. We have been through a lot over the last few weeks and while it will take time to recover both physically and mentally for all of us I am reminded of how amazing my family actually is. I feel so blessed every single day that I was given the wonderful gift of each and every one of them.

I truly hope to get back to a regular routine with all of my fellow bloggers and my own blog, and I thank all of you for sticking around to see what was next for me and for all the well wishes to my family.

OH, this photo was taken today while I took my mom out for a drive to get her out of the house. We have had massive amounts of rain here lately so I hate to take advantage of the few hours the rain let up. This particular shot is obviously an HDR image and it was taken and the Fairview Cemetery in New Albany, IN.

32 Responses to “Week #1 – I’m Back!!”

  1. Terri Jacobson April 24, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Welcome back Mindy. So glad to hear your mom is recovering nicely and I’m sorry about your sister and niece and nephew.

    I love your photo, the pink blossoms are awesome.

  2. bonniegunkel April 24, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Welcome back! I’m glad Mama felt well enough to get out for a photo shoot. This is so pretty! Love the pink against the gray sky.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Thanks Bonnie, it wore her out though lol. She slept all afternoon once we got back home 🙂

  3. KimHannigan April 24, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Well this pulled me out of hiding!! Stunning photo. What’s not to love about this picture? It’s a cemetery first off, and the HDR affect adds so much to its brilliance. And that tree! What a beautiful representation of life among death. Gorgeous.

    I sure hate that all of you have had so much to deal with these past few weeks but am so grateful you have such a strong support system to help get you through these tough times. Love y’all xoxo

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Thank you Kimmy, I know you love cemeteries so I thought of you when I was posting this 🙂 And of course thank you for your concern…you know I think I have the best family ever so we will make it through it has just been a rough April. Love you!!

  4. Susan April 24, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Welcome back! I’m so sorry you and the family have had so much to deal with lately, but with the strength and love you guys have I just know you will come out stronger than ever! Love the photo.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      We can all learn a little about strength from you!! 🙂 Love you!

  5. ladybugfamily April 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    So sorry to hear about all your family hardships mindy… it’s great that you all have eachother.

    and beeeeautiful picture!! as always 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thank you so much my friend for the concern and the compliment 🙂

  6. Celina Wyss April 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Glad to see you back. So sorry to hear about your family struggles. I hope all is well. I bet they are all so grateful for you and your strength.

  7. Shari April 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Yeesh. When it rains, it pours. So glad that you all have each other to lean on for support. Hope there will be blue skies soon.

    I was just looking at a local garden park website for a blooming schedule when your link popped up. The flowering tree outside my bank has big buds and I would love to take a pic or two BUT since the bank up the road a bit just got robbed I don’t think me w/ a camera would be a good idea. Mental pictures it’s gonna have to be………..and this one. Lovely 🙂
    Happy to have you back.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thank you Shari, and a bank robbery?!?! Oh my! Yeah I wouldn’t be roaming around the streets for a while either!

  8. Whitney Taylor April 24, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Oh Mindy I’m so glad you’re back! It seems that your project365 came to an end at just the right time. I’ve been thinking about you and your family a lot lately, always hoping things will shape up. I love your photos. This one is fabulous. It’s really symbolic, but it probably means something different for everyone. Anyway, I love it 🙂

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      Thank you so much sweetie, it means a lot that you kept us all in your thoughts! I am so glad to be back and just being able to feel connected again! Thank you!

  9. Leslie April 24, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Really great to have you back Mindy. You’ve had a rough go of it. Hoping that things trend upwards for you. Welcome back

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      Thank you so much Leslie, I am happy to be back to something normal 🙂

  10. Barbara April 25, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    SO GLAD to see a post from you my dear friend. You and your family have been in my thoughts and prayers and now I know why – goodness what a tough go round for you all… so glad about your mother, please wish her well for me. But your sister and niece – what a terrible time for them. You really HAVE had a rough time. Ask your sister if she’s tried Therapeutic Touch – I understand from a friend who had radiation and chemotherapy following cancer surgery and another who has a chronic hip problem, both in great pain, that it worked wonders. Also acupuncture…

    Through it all, your love and support for each of them has, I’m sure, meant the world. You are such a caring woman.

    Now about that photograph! WOW – as Whitney says it’s symbolic! It’s also beautiful in colouring, and there’s something about an old cemetery that speaks about history, voices from the past, families going on forever… those beautiful blossoms to me mean life, hope, love, the circle of life… I won’t go on – you get the idea I know. One of your very best!

    Glad to have you back! Also love the synchronicity of your beginning again on Easter.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Oh how I have missed chatting with you!!! Thank you so much for keeping us all in your thoughts and prayers, it means the world to me. You are so very kind to me and you always know the perfect things to say to put a smile on my face!

  11. Jim Reed April 25, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    Great shot Mindy, and glad to see you back at it! Sorry to hear about the family health problems, hope everyone pulls through alright.

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      Thank you Jim, I really appreciate your kind words my friend!

  12. robmercier00 April 25, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Welcome back! I love your HDR shots. Especially ones that show texture, like the head stones in this shot. I could study this pic for hours. 🙂

    Glad to hear your family’s doing better and that your mom is able to get outside (even if she gets pooped out in the process!) Hopefully her recovery will continue to go pretty smoothly!

    • mindymilburn April 25, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      What a great compliment Rob, thank you so much!! And thank you for the mom well wishes, I can’t wait until she is all better and back to normal 🙂

  13. Missy April 25, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Beautiful picture. Tears in my eyes. Prayers for your family to find healing and peace in all areas needed.

    Take care 😉

  14. Jackie April 25, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I am so glad you are back. When I get an email/photo blog I get a smile thinking of you, even before I open it. Your family has been through so much lately, and yet here you are again! I am so glad you were able to again share this with your mama. That is so special.

    This photo is stunning. Life among death. This life is so very beautiful, love the pink blossoms. I have had a rough couple of days with my dad, and to find a beautiful picture that brings calm, from my beautiful friend means the world to me.

  15. catherineross April 25, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Welcome back Mindy! I missed you! Glad you are giving yourself some flexibility to post when the spirit moves you. Sorry to hear that your family has been through so much turmoil but really happy to hear your Mom is doing well!! You are lucky to have them…and they are even luckier to have you my Friend!

  16. catherineross April 25, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    P.S. This is a super fabulous photo…I love everything about it…the mood,the feel, the processing…awesome!

  17. schleefy April 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Hi Mindy, again good to see you back.
    Sorry to hear that all that happened to your family at the same time.
    The photo is a perfect HDR with a awesome composition…

  18. pearlsandprose April 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    So good to see you posting again! I’m very sorry to hear about all that’s happened with your family, but very happy to read that your mom came through the surgery OK. Very scary stuff.
    The new project sounds like fun and I look forward to seeing the new photos.

  19. Kerri April 26, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Glad to see you back Mindy!! And what a beautiful picture to come back with.
    Really sorry about all that is going on ~ hopefully things will get calmer for you!!

  20. Jon May 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    LOVE the tree on this one. Great picture!!

  21. Dijea May 24, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    Love, Love, Love this! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

