Motherly Love

9 Apr

All of you were so supportive when I posted about my mom having trouble with her heart that I wanted to share an update with you.

As you know she was having some issues with chest pain that worried us and we have pushed to get her to the doctor and she finally went. After that first appointment she was scheduled for a stress test that came back normal but that really wasn’t an okay result for us because she has had chest pains since she had her stents put in last June. Her heart doctor scheduled her for a heart catheterization on Thursday and unfortunately the results weren’t good and they want her to have bypass surgery.

We are all very scared because my mom is our world but she has the love and support of the best family in the world and her doctors and nurses have all been amazing. We met with her surgeon today and not only did he explain everything to us in a way that we could understand but he also took the time to tell us that he knows how scary it is and that they will take very good care of our mom. I can’t even begin to explain how much it meant to me to hear him say this. I know bypass surgery has become very common but it is still very serious and it is my mom. Until she is laying in bed recovering I am probably going to be sort of a mess.

So please say a prayer or keep her in your thoughts over the next few weeks and thank you again for letting me have a place to come and share not only the good times in my life but also the scary.

 

17 Responses to “Motherly Love”

  1. cathy ross April 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Thanks for the upfate as I’ve been thinking about you and your Mom. She is in good hands and i know between the love and support of your family and friends and great doctors…she will be fine!

  2. T Strickland April 9, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Mindy-

    I know how you’re feeling right now. Both of my parents have had bypass surgery. The year that I moved to the West Coast, my mother had a quadruple bypass. Yes, it’s a common surgery, but that doesn’t diminish the concern. I will say a prayer for you, your mother, and your family.

  3. Susan April 9, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Nothing is “common” when it is you or someone you love. THANK GOD YOU MADE HER GO AND GET CHECKED OUT! I hate that you all have to go through this, but I really do think once it’s over she will feel better than she has in a long time. And that’s a good thing. You all have my love, prayers and support. This picture says it all.

  4. Pattyann April 10, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    Mindy, she is definitely in my prayers. I am hoping all goes well and that she feels more like her old self very soon. I am so glad that you made her go to the doctor, even though she did not want to go.

  5. Kelsbells April 10, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    Passing on my well wishes for the operation; try not to think about the risks and the negative side of things, and be grateful that medicine has evolved so much that her issue was identified before anything disastrous happened! You will have your mum with you for a long time yet, and that’s fantastic. Thank goodness you kept forcing her to go and get it checked out!

    All the best, good luck!

  6. Kelly April 10, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Well sweetie you know that your momma and ALL of you are in my thoughts and prayers.And you are right your mom has so much love around her and I’m pretty sure she knows that!!Shes gonna do great that is one strong lady….and its awesome to have the faith her medical staff that you do that makes a big difference!
    When is she scheduled for it? I know you’ll keeep us posted…give her a hug for me! Love ya hun xoxo

  7. Barbara April 10, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Oh Mindy good news along with the tough stuff – great that there is help for your mother but so terribly hard for her to face, and for all of you frankly. I’m one of your many fans and friends who will be remembering you all often in prayers and thoughts.

    Please give your Mom a great big hug for me. And visualize angel wings wrapped around all of you to help you through this. I believe they are there… And visualize us all holding your hand in one hand and your Mom’s in the other… we’re all here for you. One big circle of love and support!

    That’s one poignant photograph you posted. Tell’s such a big story. You are awfully good at telling stories with photographs. Well done. So glad to see a post from you, even if it’s full of scary stuff…Barbara

  8. bonniegunkel April 10, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Hey girl. My Daddy had open heart surgery back in 2004, and he came through it with flying colors. He was much older and in not so good health already then. Mama Willa will be just fine! We’re all praying for her and you girls are all there to help her and get her through. Please keep us updated as you can, and remember if you need anything my friend…I’m just a call or text away. I love you…and give Mama a big hug for me! ❤

  9. Shari April 10, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    The Bible memory verse for today is appropriate here:
    *Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.*
    Prayers for your mom, you and your family.

  10. robmercier00 April 10, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Keeping you guys in my thoughts this weekend. Hope everything goes well and she’s back up & recovered soon!!

  11. schleefy April 11, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Everything will be fine….

  12. Missy April 11, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I am so sorry. Prayers that it all goes as good as possible.

  13. pearlsandprose April 11, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Thank heaven you made your mom go back to the doctor! You did a wonderful thing and probably saved her life. I know this is stressful, but it sounds like your mom is in very good hands. Sending prayers and virtual hugs….

  14. Margaret April 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers.

  15. Kerri April 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Oh Mindy …. I was afraid that might happen. My Dad had stress tests that all came back fine – it was only the heart catherization that showed bypass was required. He had Quad bypass 2 years ago – and he was 85 🙂 I am praying for your Mom and for your family.

  16. dpixel365 April 13, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Thinking of you and your family and saying an extra prayer.

  17. Missy April 14, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Hope things are going alright?!?!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

