Day 356 – Perspective

27 Mar

It is snowing, yes I said snowing. It was 80 degrees here this past week and today it is snowing. I am not a fan.

Now that I got the ranting part over I have to thank the universe for giving me some perspective today. I was sitting at home early this morning worry about, well just worrying, and I heard some woman on TV talking about cancer. She said something to the effect of “life is not a dress rehearsal, we only get one shot, so don’t waste yours.” This resonated with me and I felt quite foolish for thinking I had problems. I know pain or simple problems for that matter are all relative to the person that is going through them but sometimes you get a slight nudge to let you know you don’t have it so bad.

I set out for the rest of my night with a new attitude and headed to Starbucks with Chris to work on a web design project.  My contribution was drinking coffee and occasionally telling him what to do, and him looking at me with his never-ending patient smile and nodding his head in agreement. Yes I worked hard tonight. Out of the blue it started to snow and the universe gave me a second reminder that I needed a little perspective. There was a homeless man sitting in Starbucks trying to escape the cold and the snow and the kind workers were continuously filling up his coffee cup to keep him warm. He would leave for a few minutes at a time and come back to warm up, I assume he was looking for a place to sleep tonight. The last time he walked out the door I looked over at Chris and he was wearing the same concerned look that I was and I just started to cry. To say I cry at the drop of a hat is an understatement, but it  broke my heart to think that this man had no idea where he was going to sleep or how he was going to keep warm tonight.

So you see, my problems are by comparison very small. I don’t deny my right to worry about every detail of my life but any concerns I have seem a little less important after today. I hope you all had a wonderful Saturday and wherever you are I hope you are free from snow and smiling.

 

18 Responses to “Day 356 – Perspective”

  1. Jackie March 27, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    Thank you Babydoll on the photo, which looks like a beautiful postcard, and the perspective. We all need that. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Susan March 27, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    LOVE

  3. kimhannigan March 27, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    Thank you for the reminder to try and keep things in perspective because it’s all very true. This photo is OUTSTANDING!!

  4. Shari March 27, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Thanks for the perspective reminder.
    Your photo……stunning. The combination of the lighting, the colors, the shadows, the textures and the snow falling all make for a gorgeous photo.

  5. Barbara March 27, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    You’ve made your photo look like a Christmas card, a painting, an illustration. Wonderful shot.

    And you’ve taken something you really dislike intensely – snow – and turned it into something beautiful – seems like you have a pretty good handle on perspective to me!

    so thank you for your reminder that everything really is all in “how we see it” – you’ve shown us in words as well as picture! Beautifully done.

  6. bonniegunkel March 27, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Great photo…love the processing. Thanks for the reminder on perspective…I think we all need that now and again.

  7. Kerri March 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Wonderful post Mindy! Thought provoking!
    And a FANTASTIC image!

  8. Jon March 27, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Great photo. And . . . I understand. I come from a long line of “immediate criers”. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve had to hide my tears, or pretend I have allergies, or something just so I can hide my easy water works (happens daily). Thanks for the story and reminder – my problems are nothing really.

  9. Katherine March 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Great picture, I love the way you wrote your post. And thank you for the reminder on perspective!

  10. Pattyann March 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    The picture is amazing! and so is the story with it. It is something that we all need an occasional reminder of once in awhile. Thank you for sharing.

  11. schleefy March 27, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    That is awesome, the colors, the perspective..the lights…a perfect pictures….
    thank you for letting us know that all our problems are small ones…

  12. Leslie March 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Really tremendous shot! And a great post too.

  13. dpixel365 March 28, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Great Post Mindy… What a stunning shot

  14. SLH March 28, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Wow! What a beautiful post! And a beautiful picture too 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  15. Jim Reed March 28, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Great shot Mindy, I love the colors! Good perspective-granting-post as well, it’s good to stop and remind ourselves how lucky we are every now and again.

  16. Whitney Taylor March 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Wow!!! This is an amazing photo and amazing post. Your posts are so honest and it’s easy to see how down to earth you are. I’ll miss your project so so so much.

  17. robmercier00 March 28, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Holy crap how did I miss this over the weekend?? This might be in my top 5 photos ever! SO cool (except for the part where it’s snowing in March, of course)!!

  18. Dijea March 28, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Wonderful! Absolutely fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

