Day 350 – Josh Ritter Live

20 Mar

For those of you thinking “again?”, I say yes AGAIN! Trust me if I could go as soon as tomorrow I would do that too. I think everyone has that one artist that they never tire of and could listen to or see over and over, for me that artist is Josh Ritter.

I believe this is the third time I have written about Josh in my Project 365 so I am not going to tell you anything that you haven’t already heard from me, but I will once again urge you music fans to take time to get to know this artist and his music. He is an exceptional song writer, singer and guitarist but what sets him apart for me is the sheer joy that flows out of him when he is on stage. The truth is that I know nothing more about Josh than any fan would about their favorite artist but from where I sit he is the most humble and gracious musician I have ever come across.When he is performing in front of a crowd he lights up and you can tell with every song, every word, and every smile that he is so grateful to be doing what he loves and even more grateful for each person in the audience supporting him.

The photos I am posting tonight are from  the solo acoustic show he did at the KCD Theater here in Louisville and I have to say that while I absolutely adore his band it was so awesome to see just him on stage with his guitar and his music. This is going to sound super corny but seeing him live is something special and if you ever get the chance to catch one of his shows, do so. You won’t be sorry!

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter

Josh Ritter

15 Responses to “Day 350 – Josh Ritter Live”

  1. Thomas March 20, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    It’s always such a pleasure to read your Ritter posts. You write about him with such enthusiasm and joy… and the pictures definitely reflect that as well. I’m glad you got to see him multiple times this last year. Makes me want to break out Animal Years right now, but seeing as I’m knee deep in purulent sputum…

  2. greygirl25 March 20, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Great images, I love the last one. It shows pure joy for the music he’s creating.

  3. Pattyann March 21, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I can tell that you must love his music. He looks like he is having a great time.

  4. Barbara March 21, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Once again fabulous shots of an artist in performance…you’ve caught his enthusiasm and joy in what he’s doing. Well done Mindy!

  5. BILL March 21, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I may have shared this before (or not)… I love to be consumed by the music. And the best way to achieve that (for me) is when an artist is playing TO YOU and not AT YOU.
    I’ve been to my share of concerts, “big names” and had a great time.. but in all honesty, many of these bands go thru the motions, and do their “schick” so to speak. We rock out.. or listen and admire… but there is no “communion” going on with many of them.
    With Josh Ritter… there is a give and take, between audience and artist that is just magic.. (and contagious) The first song I ever heard Josh sing LIVE was CHANGE OF TIME from SO RUNS THE WORLD AWAY. He came bounding out on stage, smiling ear to ear, eager to share his song…. and 15 seconds into the song I had tears in my eyes.. literally. It was such a rush of shear JOY, that I could not take it all in. Youtube, and even his CD’s do not do his LIVE PERFORMANCE justice.
    Mindy, I will never tire of your pictures of his concerts or you writing about him. One of these days… I hope we can go to a concert together. We really need to make this happen!.

  6. Jon March 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Great shots. I will be checking him out tonight when I get home. Thanks for sharing this – for me music is always the one thing that can drive me, relax me, make me more creative, more loving, more angry, more thoughtful . . . etc . . . .

  7. dpixel365 March 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Please feel free to share as many photos as many times you wish.. They are amazing.
    You’ve truly captured him in action.. I can feel the mood..
    Thanks for sharing.

  8. Missy March 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I can understand I feel the same way about Gary Allan. Never heard of this guy but I will have to see if I can check him out some time. 😉

  9. Leslie March 21, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Shots are all great. Like the B&W best for some reason

  10. Beth March 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    There is that smile I LOVE!! He is so amazing, I can’t believe we won’t get to see him for awhile. That makes me really sad 😦 Thanks again for inviting me to that first show. I am forever grateful!!

  11. Shari March 21, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Your enthusiasm makes me wish he would play here.
    Some day………some day 🙂
    Great photos!

  12. catherineross March 21, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    I’m in awe of the emotion you capture when you photograph musicians. These are exceptional shots Mindy, you have incredible talent, and your passion shines through in each image as well!

  13. schleefy March 23, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    The first one is my favorie…..looks great….

  14. fred March 24, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    couldn’t agree with you more Mindy. we saw Josh in detroit a few months back with the band…outstanding show. we came down from detroit to louisville to see the solo performance; in my opinion this is where Josh really shines. he embodies joy in music, and CLEARLY communicates that to his audience. we had front row seats @ KCD…and were very fortunate in that we got to go backstage to meet the man himself. he is one of the most genuine, humble and sweet humans you will ever meet. he was so gracious to myself and my wife. wow, what an experience that was!!! i cannot wait for the next opportunity to see Josh on tour, and hopefully a book tour in the summer!

  15. Paul R. Giunta March 27, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Look at you concert photographer!! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

