Day 334 – Stairway to…

4 Mar

Still not feeling very chatty tonight as I am smack dab in the middle of a “Bones” marathon. Netflix is the devil!! ๐Ÿ™‚

This shot was taken over at 4th Street Live in Louisville, they have several sets of red and orange stairways separating the top and bottom floor and I found them all quite beautiful to look at. I have developed a love for stairways recently because they signify so much. Coming, going, beginning, ending etc… I think this feeds into the reasons thatย  I love trains and train tracks so much, because they too represent some of the same aspects to me as a stairway does.

The things that I am drawn to over and over are aspects of the world that are very meaningful to me. They aren’t things I choose to shoot because others are shooting them, or because I saw a picturesque image on tv, they are things that are a part of me.ย  I love old barns because I see something beautiful in the broken and I see the same thing in people. I love to photograph guitars because they represent my love of music and a wonderful time in my life that lead me to some amazing friends. I love to photograph trains and tracks, well I have already explained that. I love to photograph architecture because it mixes the old and the new creating something worth preserving to stand the test of time and I think like architecture we all want to leave our mark.ย  I love to photograph butterflies not only because they are so gorgeous but because they represent transformation and I am constantly searching for ways to transform myself or my surroundings.

In other words the things I share with you on this blog are me. Parts of me that maybe I can’t put into words but still want to share with those of you that have been on this journey with me. There are many more things that draw me in when I am out searching for a photo but I wanted to share a few with you so that you know this blog was never about kudos or compliments. It has and always will be about learning more about myself and sharing that with those of you that care to take time out of your day to go on this journey with me.

So thank you for giving me a place to grow, a place to share the things I love, to share the things that mean something to me, to share a part of me.

I guess I was feeling chatty after all ๐Ÿ™‚

 

6 Responses to “Day 334 – Stairway to…”

  1. schleefy March 5, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    again….awesome!! I like the hard contrast between the stairs and the handrail. I always enjoying your photo first thing in the morning…a good start into the new day

  2. Barbara March 5, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    Not only is the photograph wonderful, but your accompanying essay is beautiful – I’m going to copy and keep it since while you might not think you express things well, you have written a perfect description of your “inner workings” – the things that move and shake you. Your honesty is touching and endearing. Thank you for sharing the photographs that express the inner you – and for being you!

  3. Leslie March 5, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Great shot, really like how you composed it.

  4. pearlsandprose March 7, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Fantastic colors and processing. Love that red.

  5. Bonnie Gunkel March 9, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Great blog…sometimes that writer in you comes out to play ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the red.

  6. catherineross March 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    I love all your photos Mindy…this is another wonderful perspective shot! I really hope we can get together for a photo shoot one day…that would be so much fun. If you do come up this way…let’s definitely get together…I would LOVE that! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

โ€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.โ€ Eccl 11:4 TLB

