Day 309 – Royal Blue

7 Feb

I can’t stay away from churches apparently, so I am just giving into the obsession and going with it. I have a handful of things I like to shoot like barns, trains, ferris wheels, guitars, reflections and obviously churches. I find it fascinating that we are drawn to specific things over and over but I think that is what sets us apart from one another when taking photos. I am inspired by so many people but I try not to think about that when I am out shooting, I try to bring my point of view and my voice to my photography.

I say that with a little chuckle because me and my friend Cathy definitely share a brain when it comes to architecture! She is without question my kindred spirit πŸ™‚ So while I do try to find my way of photographing the world I also take a part of all my favorite photographers with me.

 

 

18 Responses to “Day 309 – Royal Blue”

  1. Shari February 7, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Wow. That church looks like it belongs in a British countryside. Love the angle it was photographed at.

  2. Barbara February 8, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Great photograph – love the sky behind and the way it accentuates the blue in the windows and the red of the flags – neat!

    • mindymilburn February 10, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you very much, I loved it for the same reason!

  3. Margaret February 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Great perspective!

  4. ebeth420 February 8, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Interesting processing on photo. It looks like it could be on the pages of a Fairy tale. Your thoughts of the day interested me as well. I always wonder if people feel like others are copy-catting them. I know I personally see the beauty in churches more b/c you and Bonnie have opened my eyes to it, but have always loved them. Still…sometimes…I hesitate to use my photographs of them on my blog b/c I don’t want to seem like I’m copying anyone else.

    • mindymilburn February 10, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Don’t let my words stop you from posting anything that inspires you. This is something just for me personally, not advice to everyone else. I take all my favorite photographers with me when I go out but I try to make everything my own, something Mindy would shoot without the aid of anyone else and even if I shot the same building as you I would try to find a way to make it mine.

  5. pearlsandprose February 8, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Wonderful subject, wonderful image!

  6. robmercier00 February 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Love this! The colors, the composition, the lighting, everything. Awesome shot!!

  7. Leslie February 8, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Great shot! Like the sky behind the church

  8. Susan February 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I think it should be your goal to get all those favorite things in one picture. What? I’m sure you could find some church near railroad tracks with a carnival going on and the barker playing a guitar with a barn from the background reflecting in his eyes.

    On a side note, your church pictures and skies have become more menacing looking to me.

    • mindymilburn February 10, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      You are too silly, I don’t have the patience for all that lol

      It is the processing that I am using that makes them look “menacing” I am quite into that look right now πŸ™‚

  9. catherineross February 15, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Your churches are so amazing…love your perspectives and processing…Gorgeous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 310 – Royal Blue Β« Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - February 7, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mindy and AndreaG, Akanaphotography. Akanaphotography said: RT @zandria1: Day 310 – Royal Blue http://wp.me/pSqbV-r8 Nice and a nice trubute… […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

