Day 294 – Extended Family

23 Jan

If you follow this blog you all know how much my family means to me. They are my world and I feel truly blessed every single day for having them in my life. One of the most endearing qualities about my family is how welcoming they are to anyone and everyone that wants to be part of our loving little unit. I have friends that I consider my sisters, friends of my moms that I consider my aunts, and children that started out as little ones my niece babysits who have now become my adopted nieces and nephews.

I love that about my family. Family isn’t just blood relations. It is about people that you love who you want to keep close to you and carry with you for the rest of your life. While I am blessed with the family God gave me I am even more blessed that we are all open to extending that love to others and welcoming them into our hearts as if they were always part of our lives.

The photo I am sharing tonight is one of the kids we have adopted. His name is Ayden and he is one of the most gorgeous little boys I have ever seen. I confess that I am a little in love with him and so happy that he is part of our lives now.

I know I have used the words family and love an excessive amount in this conversation but I am overflowing with love for them tonight and I guess this is my outlet to share it 🙂

22 Responses to “Day 294 – Extended Family”

  1. T Strickland January 23, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    He is beautiful. And you’re right. Family doesn’t just mean those who share the same bloodline.

  2. Christopher Shiner January 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    That is just beyond ridiculously cute. I don’t think there’s much else to say. There is probably a law somewhere forbidding that much excessive cuteness. 🙂 I just want to put him in my pocket and take him home with me.

    • mindymilburn January 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

      I am sort of in love with him too 🙂 He gets cuter every time I see him!

  3. Shari January 24, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    Well said about family and could not have said it any better 🙂
    Adorable.

  4. Barbara January 24, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Beautiful little guy – you’ve caught all the impishness and love in his eyes. Well done, and well said about family – truly, that is what it’s all about – sharing the love.

    • mindymilburn January 25, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      Sharing the love, indeed! The more the merrier in my family 🙂

  5. dpixel365 January 24, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    what a beautiful photo. I so get what you mean about family.
    My hubby and I also seem to be adopting people as we go along. My daughter has 4 brothers ONLY one of which is biological.. haha.

    • mindymilburn January 25, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      LOL, D you guys have the same dynamic that we do. It is pretty wonderful though isn’t it!

  6. Leslie January 24, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Great capture of his personality!

  7. Pattyann January 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh, he is beautiful. I love the thought that says something like: “Friends are the family that we choose for ourselves”. Sometimes, they can make all the difference in our lives.

    • mindymilburn January 25, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      I have read that quote too and it is perfect!

  8. Margaret January 24, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    What an adorable little guy… love those teeth!

    • mindymilburn January 25, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you, the teeth make me crack up every time I look at it 🙂

  9. pearlsandprose January 24, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Well said. He is soooo cute!

  10. Celina Wyss January 24, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    You have such a kind and loving heart! He is is soo cute too!

  11. Jen January 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Oh Ayden is just adorable! I love those two little teeth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 295 – Extended Family « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - January 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mindy and Pixel, Dana Yi Photography. Dana Yi Photography said: Aww love how you talk about your family!“@zandria1: Photo Blog Day 295 – Extended Family: http://t.co/rQ1TEVN #project365 […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

