Day 285 – The Civil Wars

14 Jan

I have raved about them all day so I might as well continue to my blog with the love fest.

I was lucky enough to be able to go to something called “Live Lunch”Β  at the WFPK studios today, which is where you get a box lunch and get to set in this very small studio while an artist or group performs live on the radio. Of all the times I could have been able to go to one of these today was the perfect time for it to happen. The Civil Wars are an amazingly talented duo and I am so happy that I got the chance to see them live in such an intimate setting. I have never heard two people whose voices compliment each others so thoroughly. Pure, rich, and perfect. I sat in awe of how much talent flowed between these two individuals and the chemistry they shared was fantastic.

If you get a chance please check out their music, especially “Barton Hallow” and “Poison & Wine.” I am sorry these shots are from a friends phone because not only did I not have my camera but I left my iPhone on my desk lol. I was so not prepared but honestly I was so into the music it wouldn’t have mattered.

10 Responses to “Day 285 – The Civil Wars”

  1. Uncleshag January 15, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I featured this group in Longtown Sound 1058 and 1061 – and their email told me they were on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno in the past couple days. That’s moving pretty quick, Jack! Glad you got the “live” experience, Mindy.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      Oh I have no idea how I missed this UNC, They are so awesome!! But I should have known you would have already been on the ball with them πŸ™‚

  2. Barbara January 15, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    What an experience! Something very special about being in the presence of musicians while they perform for you and others… but to be right there! Terrific… and if we can go by Swap’s prediction these two are on the rise and we’ll hear more… thanks for introducing me to them.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      I think they are as well, live music is the absolute best!!

  3. Shari January 15, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Sounds like a good time. I will take your advice and check them out. I am never gonna catch up with all the music πŸ™‚

    I can deal with you not having your camera, but your iPhone? Wow. You rocked my world with that one πŸ˜‰

  4. bonniegunkel January 15, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    You do come across the luckiest things don’t you? What a treat for you. I will check them out. Have a great weekend and give Beth a birthday squeeze for me! Love ya!

  5. Pattyann January 15, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    OH, that sounds like a wonderful lunch!! I do the same thing, leave my camera at home when I need it, and than I have it when I am not going to use it. Just wish it was small enough to take everywhere!!!

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      I have a small camera but it isn’t very high quality so I just opt to use my cel phone when I leave my DSLR at home but man alive if I didn’t forget everything LOL!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

