Day 284 – Caboose in the Woods

13 Jan

Literally! πŸ™‚

I was taking a drive and with all the leaves gone from the trees this little gem stuck out like a sore thumb. I actually said out loud “is that a caboose!?”Β  I have no idea what the story behind it is but it sure caught my attention and now I want to know more! Sometimes the winter months give you little surprises like these that make you appreciate it, just a little.

 

22 Responses to “Day 284 – Caboose in the Woods”

  1. Shari January 13, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Wow, what a amazing find! I wonder what the history is on this. Great capture.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      I honestly have no clue but thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Terri Jacobson January 13, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    It’s time to hop the fence and get up close and personal. What a cool find.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      I might just have to do that one day lol

  3. Pattyann January 14, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Love it. It is so beautiful.

  4. cathy ross January 14, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    I am just loving your latest posts…perfect against the snow!

  5. Susan January 14, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    The caboose is sure loose! Is it up on blocks and is that water over to the right? Interesting. You must find out what the story is. I could invent one if you like. Heh.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Yes water to the right, the Ohio River πŸ™‚ I will try to find the history but I have no clue who to ask lol

  6. Barbara January 14, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    It looks like one of the old fashioned streetcars they used to use as a form of light rail transit in Toronto. They way it’s situated seems as if it’s looking over the water and could be a summer shelter for picnics or?

    Please tell us more – what a beautiful shot! Tranquil.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      I wish I knew more to tell, I will ask around πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the comment!

  7. BILL January 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Looks like a trolley or streetcar. Hope you get more pictures of this.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      We actually still have running trolleys here πŸ™‚

  8. ladybugfamily January 14, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    this is so cool. i would LOVE to have a caboose and then i would turn it into a little house, or a studio, or a guest house. i have thought of this often. i know… totally random πŸ˜‰

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      Oh that would be amazing!!! Thank you my dear for the comment!

  9. bonniegunkel January 14, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    That is kind of bizarre, but a great shot!

  10. pearlsandprose January 14, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    It looks like an old streetcar like the ones in Dr. Zhivago. Very cool!

  11. Jen January 14, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    What a great find! I’d love to know the story behind that.

    • mindymilburn January 19, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      Thank you, if I find the story I will be sure to share.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 285 – Caboose in the Woods Β« Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - January 14, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jen Bronenkant, Mindy. Mindy said: Day 285 – Caboose in the Woods: http://t.co/SGpPLYu […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

