Day 278 – Urban Alley

7 Jan

I had a really good day today. Work went by fast and we had some good laughs, got my hair cut by the best stylist in the world, then had a wonderful dinner with really great friends. Oh,  and I am home in time to curl up and read while still getting a good nights sleep. Yes, good night indeed. My cousin and friend Trina came to dinner with us tonight and I forgot how much she makes me laugh. She is just fun. Hopefully we can make having her around a regular occurrence.

This shot is the back of some random building in Louisville, I just really like the contrast of colors and the stairs in the shot so that is really the only story behind it 🙂

Hope you guys are having a wonderful night!

 

21 Responses to “Day 278 – Urban Alley”

  1. Susan January 7, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Your casual, random shots are like works of art. Did you touch up those colors? They are fabulous.

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      Why thank you SO much!! You made my day! Yes I did boost the colors and the contrast in this shot!

  2. Shari January 7, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    When you least expect it………the colors really are grand. The stair color draws out the color in the brick, which leads the eye up to the name on the bldg. and then upward toward the yellow……..The stairs really do make it work.
    Glad you had a good day and I didn’t know my hair stylist commuted between here and there! I’ll be darned 😉
    Happy reading and have a good weekend.

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      LOL you love your stylist too huh 🙂 The colors in the staircase is what caught my interest too. I almost wish the writing wasn’t on the building because then it would have focused on the staircase more.

  3. Dijea January 8, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    I love that staircase. Fabulous shot.

  4. Pattyann January 8, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Love the contrasts! Great shot.

  5. Swapmeet Louie January 8, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    I do quite like the colors in this picture! What does that say, “Petnus?” What the hell does that mean?

    Lovely pic!

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Thank you, and it says Petrus, it was some kind of club or bar in the front and that was the back.

  6. Barbara January 8, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Fabulous “back alley” shot – love the details and the colours – what an interesting place Louisville is… you are showing some great scenes from there.

    So glad you had a great night out with friends… and family too! Isn’t it amazing how those kinds of moments refresh and renew us?

    By the way, many thanks for your very kind comments on my blog…I love that we are learning about each other through the internet and through our own stories. This is such a new experience for me – developing a friendship over the ether though I’ve been a writer for a long time and used the “net” before but not like this. I have to thank you many times over for reading and commenting on the blog. THAT makes my day so often! And other people have come to read my little stories because of your blog as well… so double thanks. Enjoy your day and get some more great photos Mindy – you’re a champion!

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      This just made me smile! First thank you for the comments on the photo but I am so happy that you found my blog and you have become a wonderful friend that I look forward to talking with! I am glad more people have found you through this blog because you really have an amazing life and I love that you share it with us!

  7. BILL January 8, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Great colors.. so what are the chances of getting a MINDY CALENDAR? This picture would make the cut for sure… ;-D

  8. bonniegunkel January 8, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Love the staircase! Very cool!

  9. Cathy Ross January 9, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    You and I see such similar things through our lenses…this is so cool…great colors and composition!

  10. Kerri January 10, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Love this shot, not sure if is is the colors or the writing on the building or the stairs or all of it …. but I really LOVE this shot!

  11. pearlsandprose January 11, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Mindy, this is fantastic! The blue, the orange, the dark pink, the yellow…great job.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 279 – Urban Alley « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - January 8, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by mitzs. mitzs said: RT @ice66: RT @zandria1: Photo Blog Day 279 – Urban Alley: http://wp.me/pSqbV-oJ #project365 #photography […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

