Day 277 – Graffiti

6 Jan

While I hate to see a building defaced, there is something so intriguing about graffiti. I think I get inspired by the amount of talent some graffiti artists have and I just imagine what they could do if given the right outlet to express themselves.

This photo was taken through a chained fence in Louisville so I am not even sure how they got in to do the work but as I drove past it caught my eye and I had to go back and take a couple of photos.

What are your views on graffiti? I am curious to hear how you feel about it.

 

23 Responses to “Day 277 – Graffiti”

  1. Susan January 7, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Well, I think the graffitiest who did the white OH needs a few more lessons.

    Once again, you bring a shot to life! The way the detail in all those lines and different shaped bricks shows up is amazing.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 11:06 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I didn’t even realize that random white was an OH HAHAHA

  2. Barbara January 7, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Another great shot – as Susan says you point up the “bones” of the building, the architecture. As for graffiti – when it’s well done it is a great art form, when it’s trash, well that’s all it is. In Canada, we have a comedian from Newfoundland – Rick Mercer – who has his own show on television called the mercer Report. He’s very funny and spot on about the topics of the day – he does a rant about politics while walking through a laneway filled with graffiti… which says a lot about how he feels about politics. It makes a great background for his sarcasm and jokes… I’ve always felt that graffiti has the potential to be a powerful statement if well done. Too bad we don’t have special walls for budding young artists and political commentators to use.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Thank you!

      I really think having a wall or area dedicated to this art would be an awesome thing. It does have the potential to be powerful if done correctly because otherwise it is just vandalism.

  3. Pattyann January 7, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Yep, to me, it is an art form that is largely wasted and abused. I do not think it is right that people write on and deface something that is not their property. They manage to do it all over. I like the idea of areas where they could develop their art, be allowed to do it, and paint over it to do more. There is a simple restaurant in Phoenix az where the fence was allowed to be graffiti to help advertise the restaurant. It looks really cool and actually adds to the environment. That is always a place that I look and admire when I go by. I like your picture because you caught the good and the bad that this type of art can bring. Nice capture of a very controversial subject.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      I agree, it is talent that is wasted and abused. The sad thing is, if you look at some of the work it is amazing. Like I said, imagine what they could do if given the right outlet. I love that the restaurant in your area that has a spot for this type of expression and it turned into a good thing.

  4. bonniegunkel January 7, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I have the same opinons as expressed by everyone above. I also would love to see areas where grafitti was permitted and encouraged. I’ve seen some great stuff…just in bad places.

    I think it is too funny that you posted a photo of grafitti last night, because I have had an idea rolling around in my head for about a week now. I stopped by one of my railroad tracks the other day as a train was passing, and some of the cars were all painted up with grafitti and I thought…wow, I need a photo of that…and I reached in my purse for my camera and got it out and ready and then the last car in the train went by. But I’m going to try to capture it at some point. This is great! Love it!

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Definitely great talent expressed in the wrong way.

      Every time I take a photo of a train I catch some graffiti. I always thought it was so odd that so many trains had been “tagged” but it has been done since I can remember seeing trains. Again the wrong outlet but some of it is so good.

  5. Swapmeet Louie January 7, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Graffiti is a useless exercise. The morons who write/paint over some public structure might as well be some animal that just marks the spot with their own urine. You want to go up to them, pat them on the back, and say, “Congrats, man… you’re an idiot.”

    That being said, I do think the ART of some of the graffiti is quite impressive. I just wish they’d find another outlet… like have the city give them a wall to paint a mural… or buy a canvas. Just don’t fuck up the city with your need to say I WAS HERE.

    How childish is that?

    Oh, by the way… I was here.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      So you don’t like the photo? lol

      Definitely hate to see a beautiful building defaced like I said I just wish there was an outlet for this type of art because some of it is, like you said, quite impressive.

  6. pearlsandprose January 7, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Like you, I am torn. I like some of the artwork, but not if it’s defacing something like a monument or someone’s business.

    Nice shot, by the way.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      I don’t think it is ok ever to vandalize someone’s property ever but I still find beauty in the work 🙂

      Thank you!

  7. Shari January 7, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    The art aspect of some graffiti is stunning but to deface a building without permission is vandalism pure and simple. I don’t care how good it is.
    They do have a program here:

    T.R.U.E. Skool’s goal is: “Providing [graffiti artists] with legal, safe places. We are trying to offer outlets for self-expression, just like any other form of art.”
    Problem is that the grafitti-ists have to know about and want to participate in program.
    As for your photo, it is good. It drew some good comments and strong feelings.

    • mindymilburn January 7, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      I hope you guys don’t take me photographing it as me supporting it. Regardless of whether or not I think it is ok (which I do not) I still find beauty in it.

      • Shari January 7, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

        I didn’t take you posting the photo as supporting graffiti.
        Here, from elementary school thru high school, we were provided an outlet for our *creatvity*. We were given opportunities to paint windows for holidays, spirit week etc… In high school, outside the cafeteria, there was a pole and a GIANT boulder. Each Senior class got to use that to be creative…..names, quotes, art. Every new school year they were painted over. It must have worked, I don’t recall any graffiti problems in school.

  8. Karla January 7, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Graffiti has always caught my attention when its amazing art! I think having a dedicated place to show the true beauty of the art some of these people have would be awesome! Great photo!

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Thank you sis and I couldn’t agree more!

  9. Celina Wyss January 7, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I think graffiti is beautiful in its own way. It is a brand almost of urban living. Do I agree with it defacing property and signs. No, not at all.

  10. Leslie January 7, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    I make a distinction only for me between taggers (the “OH” to me looks like someone just tagging) and graffiti which can be an art form (look at Banksys’s art). I think it’s wrong to deface property. But if the property is decaying, falling apart, becoming or is an eye-sore then graffiti can actually improve it. I thought it interesting that some murals were put up on the LA freeways. As long as they were maintained, they were graffiti and tag free for the most part. When they started to decline, more and more defacing occurred. Taggers will tag anything. it’s ugly and gang/crime related. It’s too bad that the people with talent can’t find a better outlet for their art though. Great shot, btw 🙂

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Thank you and I agree completely. There is a difference and I do not support them vandalizing any property even if it is awesome art but I really do wish there was more of a program for them to help the area rather than it being something negative.

  11. Cathy Ross January 9, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Grafitti fascniates me as you know from some of my recent posts on UrbanGritt. I always wonder who the artist is, when they do their artwork, where do they get the paint…but what really amazes me is the similarity in style everywhere you see it…the grafitti in your photo is almost identical to the grafitti in the photos I posted…anyway, I love this cool series your doing. How are you processing these pics? Is this w/your iphone? Fabulous images Mindy!!

    • mindymilburn January 9, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Thank you so much Cathy, you definitely inspired using some of these city shots I had previously taken. Your Urban grit seriously is SO amazing and inspiring!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

