Day 275 – Entrance

4 Jan

Another local church to share with you. It is amazing what beauty you can find in your own hometown when you take the time to actually see what is around you. My friend Shari told me that my photos of churches have brought her a sense of peace and that is such a wonderful compliment,Β  I went looking for that peace today after the weird day I had. I might have aided the search with a glass of wine or two but I found peace in looking through my photos and working on them. So thank you Shari for reminding me that I can find exactly what I need by focusing on my work.

Have you ever just had a strange day that didn’t make any sense, then suddenly it did make sense, followed by the sincere wish that it didn’t make sense and you could go back to being oblivious? No? Well I had one of those today. Actually I am still having one of those days and all I can say is “MAN ALIVE!”

So here is to a simpler day tomorrow and to the universe not playing anymore jokes on me πŸ™‚

I also wanted to share some photos my friend Christopher took on his trip to Nashville. We share a mutual love of photography and it was his gracious spirit that allowed me to venture into the world of DSLR cameras. We have a very similar artistic eye and when he excitedly told me that Nashville had a model of the Parthenon and that he took some photos IΒ  was equally excited to see them. They are gorgeous so I wanted to share two of them with all of you. He took these with his iPhone 4 and edited with Camera + I believe and I think they are fabulous. They totally look like photos I would take πŸ™‚


22 Responses to “Day 275 – Entrance”

  1. Elizabeth January 4, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Sorry you had an odd day. Hope tomorrow is better. Love your church theme. And your friend’s picture of the columns was very WOW for me. I want to be you two when I grow up πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks Beth, I am already better my friend. I just had a day πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the comments and yes his photos are amazing. The columns was my favorite too!

  2. cathy ross January 4, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Oh my…this is absolutely Gorgeous!!! I love this church series you are doing. And I agree…they bring me peace and totally lift my spirit (which needs lifting this time of year)

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you so much Cathy, your kind words really mean a lot to me!

  3. Margaret January 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Gorgeous image, the church series is wonderful. Your friends shots are fabulous, especially love the columns!

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you so much!! You guys are making me want to go find more churches πŸ™‚

      The columns were my favorite too of his shots!

  4. Whitney Taylor January 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Wow! I had no idea it was possible to capture so much detail on an iPhone. They definitely look like photos you would take. I just glazed over them at first and assumed they were all yours πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      I have a love affair with my iPhone πŸ™‚ They do take amazingly good photos. I have a few friends that do their daily photo blogs just on iPhones. You would be amazed Whitney!

  5. Pattyann January 4, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Love the pictures. Love all the old churches in your town. My town is way too small to have anything like that, it is why I take so many nature pictures. I love the one from Nashville and would so love to use that as a backdrop for pictures of my girls. I think it would be totally awesome! Now, I just have to save up money to go to Nashville and we will be there!!

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      Nashville is just such a great and diverse city!

      Thank you for the wonderful comment and my town is rather small too I just live close to a big city so I take advantage of that πŸ™‚

  6. Shari January 5, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    πŸ™‚ Hug πŸ™‚ but don’t you mean your friend Veruca? So very blessed to have you in my life. Thanks for lifting my spirits with your photos and kind words. You are very welcome Mindy.
    This photo is gorgeous; it pops off the page. I swear I just want to walk thru those doors.

    They just tore down a beautiful old church nearby. It broke my heart to see that church gone. Photo album: Page 27/28 has pics of old church being torn down http://www.flickr.com/photos/st_pauls_franklin/4991082544/ A co-worker had gotten married there. Small, quaint, beautiful stained glass…….gone. I am sure certain components of the old will go into new, but the new won’t have that same charm
    Odd day here too. Who knew a day off, I said OFF, could be so challenging. A toast indeed to a simpler, better day tomorrow.

    Christopher’s shots, YOWZA! iPhone4 took these? Just so amazing. I had no idea Nashville had a model of the Parthenon.

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:52 am #

      Ah yes Veruca πŸ˜€ LOL You are very very welcome and thank you!!

      I haven’t looked at the photos yet but it makes me so sad to hear about the church being torn down. I love new and contemporary to be honest but old buildings just have so much charm and history.

      Yes the iPhone πŸ™‚ It is a wonderful little friend lol

  7. Barbara January 5, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Like everyone else who’s commented – I too felt the need to respond to your series on architecture – particularly the churches. Your town has the most glorious old buildings and you capture the most interesting detail. Your friend Christopher’s shots are so like yours – you must be of like mind?
    Thanks for all your effort to make someone else have a great day even though yours was difficult – so thoughtful Mindy.

    • mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:53 am #

      Thank you so much my friend! I honestly do appreciate my surroundings so much more now after this 365 project. Chris and I are very like minded, sometimes it is scary how much πŸ™‚

  8. Bonnie Gunkel January 5, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Well, you know I love church shots, and this one is fabulous as well. Tell Christopher he did a great job on his as well (and tell him I said hi and that I miss his face too!) Here’s hoping today is better for all of us!

  9. mindymilburn January 5, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Thanks Bon, and you just told him πŸ™‚ He will read this lol

  10. Leslie January 5, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Really like these shots

  11. Kerri January 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Love your church photo – and the iPhone photos are pretty amazing also!

  12. pearlsandprose January 5, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    iPhones are amazing, aren’t they? I had no idea there was a model of the Parthenon in Nashville! It’s very authentic-looking.
    Great shot of the church.

  13. mindymilburn January 6, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Thank you!

    iPhones really are the best! We are making a plan to go visit the inside next. I am intrigued.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

