Day 273 – Another Red Door

2 Jan

I honestly had no clue how many of the churches in my area were sporting red doors until that first capture and following discussion about why churches have red doors. I didn’t know there was so much meaning behind it and I had never noticed all the red doors before that day but now I can’t stop noticing them 🙂 Needless to say, every time I come across a church I check the doors!

 

15 Responses to “Day 273 – Another Red Door”

  1. Swapmeet Louie January 3, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    Totally digging this picture as well. The contrast of the red against the lighter brick is staggering! Churches ’round those parts seem to have such character… much unlike those here. The most interesting thing on churches here is the fact that I’m not there.

    Hmmm… that’s actually the most interesting fact about all the places I’m not at.

    • mindymilburn January 3, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Thank you, I liked the contrast too. The most interesting thing about this conversation is that I am part of it LMAO! You are a hot mess.

  2. Shari January 3, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    Still have not found a church around here with red doors. Like Swap said, the contrast between the red doors and the lighter brick is staggering.
    Love the shadow of the cross and entrance way cast back onto the lighter brick!

    • mindymilburn January 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Isn’t that insane that we have a ton! I would never have thought twice about it if I hadn’t posted that first photo 🙂 Thank you for the kind words!

  3. Barbara January 3, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    What a beautiful old church – it looks very old, but the door! it’s been kept in mint condition… what a welcoming sign. Love the photograph and am so jealous you have SUN! We haven’t seen sun in at least a month… and yup it’s snowing again.

    So this photo brightened my day in many ways, the beauty of the image, the history of red doors and the sunlight!
    Thanks!

    • mindymilburn January 3, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      I can’t even imagine living with the amount of snow you get! I mean I really can’t even imagine it LOL! Thank you for your kind comment and I hope you get some sun soon my friend!

  4. bonniegunkel January 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Love how you framed this one. Beautiful!

  5. Leslie January 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Lighting really brings out the textures and colors. Awesome shot

    • mindymilburn January 3, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Thank you, the sun was my friend for this one 🙂

  6. Dijea January 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Love it.

  7. ladybugfamily January 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    isn’t it interesting that i feel more compelled to enter a red door than a plain brown one? i wonder what that says about me 😉

    • mindymilburn January 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      It says you are my type of gal 🙂 Who needs boring and plain?

  8. Margaret January 3, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Wonderful capture! Love the color and tones… now you’ll have me looking for red doored churches! (Not that it’s a bad thing!) 🙂

  9. Celina Wyss January 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    This is so beautiful. Poetic. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

