Day 264 – Tearful Gifts

24 Dec

We have our family Christmas on Christmas Eve so tonight was our big get together. My family has so much fun when we are together and I really couldn’t have asked for more. We exchanged gifts, ate a ton of food, played some games, ate some more food, and had a wonderful evening. I say this all the time but I adore my family. We are a very sentimental family as well and my sister handed me a present tonight and said I want to see your face when you open it. That always makes you nervous because it either means it will embarrass you or make you start crying. For me it was the latter, as soon as I realized what it was I had to turn away because I just broke down into tears sobbing.

For those of you that do not know I lost my dad to cancer when I was very young. I remember him but most of my memories come from the stories that others tell and from what I know he loved me more than anything in the world. I am so happy when I hear stories about the kind of man he was because I know he was a good man and I was blessed to have him in my life if only for a short while.

My sister Kathy has a lot of memory books from when she was growing up and while going through one she found the cigars that my dad passed out the day I was born. Yes you used to be able to get those at the hospital 🙂 So she put it in a shadow box with my favorite photo of my father and I. Needless to say I cried like a baby, then my mom started to cry and of course everyone was watching this whole episode play out lol

So of course I am posting a photo of my shadow box and sis if you are reading this, thank you! I love you very much and thank you for always trying to keep dads memory alive and close to my heart.

17 Responses to “Day 264 – Tearful Gifts”

  1. Terri Jacobson December 24, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    What a beautiful and thoughtful gift.

  2. Shari December 25, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Best. Gift. Ever.

  3. Susan December 25, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    “It’s a girl”. And what a girl she turned out to be!! Mindy, just look at the way he’s holding you. Look at his hands, his face. It’s like you were a precious jewel. He knew and loved you well for that short time. Merry Christmas, Sweetie. Please give you family big hugs from me, especially Kathy.

  4. Barbara December 25, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    So I’m sentimental too – and have tears in my eyes as well while reading your blog this Christmas morning. What an incredible gift.
    Merry Christmas Mindy – “May your days be merry and bright…” (but maybe not so white?) Your blog has been the most remarkable gift – you are so open and giving. Thank you for being you.

  5. bonniegunkel December 25, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    That is such an awesome gift Mindy. You are very loved by your natural family, and your “extended” family as well. What a sweet photo!!! Love you my friend! Merry Christmas!

  6. Beth December 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    That is the best gift. I know how much you love your dad and wish he could have been in your life longer. I wish that for you. He would be very proud of you, just like all of your other family members. Me included. I wish I could have shared that very emotional moment with you all last night. I am very lucky to be a part of such a loving family. I love you!

  7. Swapmeet Louie December 25, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    What a beautiful gift! I wish you a Merry Christmas!

  8. Greg Louderman December 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    A beautiful story

  9. Whitney Taylor December 25, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    I love homemade gifts! This is so beautiful! Great story behind the photo, as always. Merry Christmas Mindy!!

  10. Jackie December 25, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    How beautiful!

  11. ebeth420 December 27, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    What a beautiful gift and what a sweet picture.

  12. Sharon H December 27, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    That is just beautiful, Mindy. Brings tears to my eyes too. Love is such a beautiful thing. Merry Christmas to you.

  13. catherineross December 27, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    OK so I just started to cry! What a beautiful post. I’m sure he watches over you every day and loves you more and more each day!

  14. Celina Wyss December 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    What a special gift. I hope you had a very Merry Christmas!

    • mindymilburn December 30, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      Thank you Celina, I hope you did as well my friend!

  15. Jen December 29, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    What a wonderful gift. Thanks for sharing this story.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

