Day 250 – Flight

10 Dec

Sometimes photographs are a chance encounter. I asked my mom to go out looking at Christmas lights with me tonight and she agrees, but before we could go out I wanted to drive down the road to see if I could get a shot of the sunset that I had seen for three straight days and never once had my camera.

We got up to the school parking lot and it looked like we had missed the sun by about ten minutes but the sky still looked pretty gorgeous so we stopped really fast so that I could get out. I took a couple of shots was adjusting my settings to take a few more when my mom yells “BIRDS, BIRDS, BIRDS!” I instinctively bring my camera straight to my eye and start shooting without even looking up first. The ducks in the pond behind the school chose that exact moment to fly up over top of us. If we had been a minute late we would have missed it and if we had been sitting anywhere else in that parking lot (we were illegally parked in the street) I wouldn’t have caught this.

I think it is beautiful and my mom and I make a great team. I kept saying all night “birds, birds…” and she would crack up.

18 Responses to “Day 250 – Flight”

  1. Beth December 10, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    AMAZING! Even though I hate birds this is beautiful. Everything about this picture is perfect. You amaze me 🙂

  2. catherineross December 10, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Gorgeous, let me say that again louder…GORGEOUS!! I Love the Story that goes with it 🙂

  3. BILL December 10, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    BRILLIANT!

  4. Shari December 10, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    The sky looks like it is on fire! Stunning!
    A case of right place, right time photo. Great photo Mindy……..mom, too 🙂

  5. Terri Jacobson December 10, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful Mindy.

    What a shot.

  6. Swapmeet Louie December 11, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    After the day I had, this is just what the doctor ordered. Peaceful 🙂

  7. Uncleshag December 11, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    Love it! Could’ve been shot at my lake. A pixel filled memory!

  8. Barbara December 11, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    One of the most beautiful images of a sunset I’ve seen – I agree with all of the others who’ve made comments – it really is exceptional and aren’t we lucky you were there just then with camera in hand. and as Catherine says – great story too! Thanks for this one.

  9. Leslie December 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Stunning in beauty and simplicity. You and your mom do make a great team!

  10. bonniegunkel December 11, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    That is a beautiful shot Mindy! I think it’s so awesome that you and Mom go on photo shoots together. 🙂

  11. Dijea December 11, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous shot!

  12. pearlsandprose December 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Don’t you just love it when that happens?? Stunning capture.

  13. Whitney Taylor December 13, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Wow again! This is amazing. I love just by chance photo ops! Great shot : )

  14. Jackie December 14, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    Incredible!

  15. Celina Wyss December 14, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh wow, this is just magical!

  16. Stasia December 15, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Wow. That’s an amazing photo!! I want it for my desktop at work! 😀

  17. Kimmy December 17, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    I’m coming out of hiding to say that this is the most beautiful picture I’ve ever seen. Thesaurus tells me to say brilliant, dazzling, exquisite, delightful, lovely, splendid, stunning, sublime..well you get where I’m going with this. Needless to say I am going to hound you from dusk til dawn until you give me a big version for a wallpaper! 😀

    • mindymilburn December 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      You are too damn cute! I will send it to you tonight!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

