Day 247 – Chained

7 Dec

I saw this really old gate while driving and found the chain and lock  quite interesting. I love the water clinging to the bottom of the lock and the rust on the post. The funny thing about this gate being locked is that it is standing all alone, so I am not sure what the purpose is. One of those things that makes you stop and think 🙂

 

21 Responses to “Day 247 – Chained”

  1. Susan December 7, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    How you can make an old rusty lock and chain interesting, I’ll never know.

  2. Pattyann December 7, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    Very interesting and actually unique. I love how it looks all together. I also love how, the more pictures I take, the more my eye sees interest in the world around me.

    • mindymilburn December 8, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you so much Patty, I felt the same way when I started to really get into photography. I see photos everywhere and usually kick myself when I don’t have my camera 🙂

  3. Whitney Taylor December 8, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    I think the frozen aspect is my favorite part : )

  4. Shari December 8, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Love it. I wonder what the history is behind it.

    You have no idea what you started by simply mentioning chained……..it put a song in my head from a local group and I went on a YouTube-arama, thankyouverymuch

    • mindymilburn December 8, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      LOL you are quite welcome and thank you for the compliment. What song have you been singing?

      • Shari December 8, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

        Tied Down and Chained, BoDeans
        🙂

  5. Swapmeet Louie December 8, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    This picture reminds me of how I feel. It’s gritty and doesn’t have an appealing quality to it at all… I’m talking about the lock and the rust, not the photo itself! Hope that makes sense!!!!!

    • mindymilburn December 8, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      It does makes sense but now I am going to be calling you to find out why you feel like that…don’t make me worry mister!

      • Shari December 8, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

        😦
        “This picture reminds me of how I feel. It’s gritty and doesn’t have an appealing quality to it at all”…………seriously??!?!!!? This to shall pass, right???
        Therapy time with Mindy coming up.

  6. Barbara December 8, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    A mystery! love those kinds of images that provoke all kinds of thinking – look at the previous comments! everyone got something out of this shot – well done!

    • mindymilburn December 8, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      Thank you Barbara, that is so cool and thank you for pointing it out. I love when people interpret a photo with so many different meanings!

  7. Bonnie Gunkel December 8, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I really like this one! I have recently discovered that I like rust in photos. LOL! Great one Min!

    • mindymilburn December 8, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      🙂 Thanks Bon! Rust is so cool to shoot I have to agree.

  8. Leslie December 8, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Really interesting shot! My guess is that the keys for these have been lost long ago. Just waiting for the giant bolt cutters to free the chains.

  9. mindy December 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    this is so cool! i love the lack of color, except for the rust on the post. very nice mindy!!

  10. Kerri December 8, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    The stories it could tell 🙂 Neat capture!

  11. pearlsandprose December 8, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Great find! I love rust. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 247 – Chained « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - December 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mindy, Leslie Lee and Jennifer, Shari Schultz. Shari Schultz said: @zandria1 Day 247 – Chained: http://t.co/M5SYxGM […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

