Day 244 – Snow Day

4 Dec

While snow is my worst nightmare it is still quite pretty after the initial snow. It quickly turns into black sludge but the first day after a snow is very pretty.

We didn’t get a lot of snow this time around but I figured I better stop and take a few shots before I start cursing it 🙂

17 Responses to “Day 244 – Snow Day”

  1. Pattyann December 4, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Yep, I know the feeling. Ours turns to mud and gets EVERYWHERE! I always love the way the first snow looks. It is the snow that comes in February and March that I really don’t like!!

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:56 am #

      UGH that just reminds me that I still have months of this to go lol SO SAD!

  2. Shari December 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Had our first snow last night/today.
    Not as much as they said so……… WIN!

    The first snow IS always pretty. If they sun is out tomorrow, it should be blindingly bright.

    To me it is amazing that white can add so very much to the color in a photo. It freshens the greys and yellows and browns up.

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      I just really wish it would snow and then go away. I can’t even imagine living where you do and dealing with so much of it. I would lost my mind!

      • Shari December 6, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

        You have to embrace the snow to some degree or you will lose it. It is all about finding the positives in it.
        When it messes with your plans THAT is when I resent the heck out of it.

      • mindymilburn December 7, 2010 at 10:56 am #

        I don’t want to embrace it, I don’t wanna don’t wanna lol

  3. Swapmeet Louie December 4, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I’m totally digging this picutre… but I must ask…what is that little r2d2 looking thing? It also looks like the Ion cannon the rebels used to clear a path off Hoth. Wait. Did you take that picture ON Hoth????

    You’re a Star Wars fanatic! Awesome!

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      That is an observatory. It has a big telescope in it to view the stars. I saw the rings of Saturn on time in there 🙂

      And I do love Star Wars 🙂

      • Shari December 6, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

        And now it is my turn to comment on this comment. Observatory? That is SO cool!

  4. Lori December 5, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    Hello, I love your photographs!
    I am starting a project like this myself next year, and I am actually getting a group of people who will do it at the same time as me. We will have a few meetings to plan, and I was wondering if you have any tips for us.

    We will do a mix of creative projects, some days photography, drawings, sewing, oragami, etc 🙂

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:54 am #

      That sounds like so much fun, you will love having people to do this project with and I look forward to seeing all of your work! Thank you so much for checking out my blog and for the wonderful comments!

      • creativebalorina December 8, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

        thank you :))

  5. Barbara December 5, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    If your snow only turns to mud after a coupla days – I get your hating it… It hasn’t stopped here for a coupla days… and it’ll be a foot deep before day’s end I’m sure. So I don’t mind it – I hate the oozy, sticky, mucky stuff that looks ugly and feels worse when it ruins my new boots. This stuff will pretty much stick around now and be Christmas pretty for two or three months. just getting deeper. So enjoy the little bit before it turns black Mindy, get that little Munchkin dog a new sweater so she can run around in it… and be glad you don’t live up here, you’d lose her in a heart beat… though she might just snorkle through to the pathways…like I’ve seen one of my cats do. Nice shot by the way- captures first snow really well.

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      I just picture her snorkeling through the snow and it cracked me up! She does not like the snow at all. She is quite spoiled and doesn’t like to be cold 🙂

  6. BILL December 5, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Looks great. No snow here yet but hoping. Having a WHITE CHRISTMAS seems to be less and less in recent years, so when we get one, it’s special.

    • mindymilburn December 6, 2010 at 9:51 am #

      I HATE SNOW 🙂 But I hope you have a white Christmas sweetie!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 244 – Snow Day « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - December 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ken Shane, Longtown Sound, Mindy, Jacob Peck, Jennifer and others. Jennifer said: RT @zandria1: Day 244 – Snow Day: http://t.co/KUHZSoK […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

