Day 236 – Oh Sad Day

26 Nov

It wasn’t even a dusting but walking outside this morning to find snow in the ground was cause for great sadness!

I hate winter, let me repeat that. I HATE WINTER. So going from a week in the mid 70’s to weather cold enough for snow sucks.

As we were pulling out of the drive I had to stop and get a photo of the mums with remnants if the snow left sprinkled on them. I thought the irony in the photo was amusing.

By the way, I wanted to say sorry for not responding to comments. I’ve been staying at my moms so I don’t get on the computer and have been updating from my phone when I can. I will catch up as soon as I can and get to all your wonderful blogs too.

13 Responses to “Day 236 – Oh Sad Day”

  1. Pattyann November 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Love this. We had our first snow here too. Everything had and inch or so. I am so sorry to see fall go. Oh well, winter will not last forever.

  2. Jackie November 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Beautiful shot. From the 70s to snow??? Yuk.

  3. Terri Jacobson November 26, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Beautiful photo.

    Sorry for the snow. We had our first skift this week of snow and we never get snow.

  4. Shari November 26, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Beautiful! I have to say it……….No matter how much I have come to dislike it.
    We have yet to have our first snow. Why does it have to be SO slippery???????
    No worries about not responding to comments. Just have a good time with your mom.

  5. Swapmeet Louie November 27, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    That picture put a smile to my face… it’s a reminder of what’s to come. Those flowers look so yellow, though! Are they going to fade as winter arrives? Are they actually called “mums?”

    Glad you had a good time with your mom!

    • BILL November 27, 2010 at 8:24 am #

      You Californians crack me up!!! You need to spend a full winter in New England sometime….

      • Shari November 27, 2010 at 10:35 am #

        Upper Midwest too πŸ™‚ MN seems to be the target this year…we were last year.

  6. Barbara November 27, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Oh lovely shot – isn’t it amazing what your camera phone does? I like the changes in seasons… but for me, it’s not the snow so much as the lack of light in November – February… it mostly seems grey. But this cheerful image is a keeper, I think I’ll come back and look at it when I feel down!

  7. Jim Reed November 27, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Nice shot! Looks like it’s first snow time for a lot of Photo a Day bloggers! Sort of makes me glad we got the first snow out of the way a few weeks ago in Ohio, takes some of the pressure off πŸ˜‰

  8. BILL November 27, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    We’ve already had our first “dusting” as well… very early for that. Let’s hope Winter goes by quickly. Not a big fan either….

  9. Sharon H November 27, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I’m with you there, Mindy. I HATE WINTER too. Although we rarely get dustings down here (actually that would be something of a treat), I can’t stand looking at all the dead plant life, and leafless trees. At least some of you guys have an abundance of evergreens to continue with some color in the landscape, or snow to cover up the ugliness! Because I’m a gardener I guess, I’m extra sensitive to the loss. I know it’s necessary…rest and rebirth and all that, but when you’ve fed, pruned, and coddled for months, it’s hard to see them go!

    I love the cheery color of your mums. Bless them for holding on! Speaking of irony, please see my latest profile pic on FB, taken a few years back…a purple coneflower encased in ice. Poor, poor babies!

  10. Susan November 27, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Well I hate to think of winter coming too, but have to admit that is a really cool photo!

  11. pearlsandprose November 28, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I feel your pain. We just got back from Florida where it was sunny and 85 degrees. No snow yet, thank heaven, but it will be here soon.
    Nice shot of the poor mums. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

