Day 227 – Worship

17 Nov

No matter your faith or beliefs I think it is hard for anyone to deny the beauty of old churches. I have really noticed them more in the last few weeks and I am having fun capturing the many that are in my area. If the weather would cooperate maybe I could go out and find some more. Tomorrow is calling for more rain, I am crossing my fingers that the weather people are mistaken.

 

18 Responses to “Day 227 – Worship”

  1. Terri Jacobson November 17, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    That is another beauty.

    I love old architecture too and it certainly stands the test of time.

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      Thank you so much, it really does doesn’t it!

  2. shari November 17, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Ahhhh, the red doors again. You have so many by you and I can’t think of one near me.
    Stained glass windows, bell tower, arches- all beautiful. The stone fence lends itself to the old architecture. Wonderfully captured.

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      I am telling you, red doors are the norm here 🙂 Thank you for the kind comments!

  3. Pattyann November 18, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    Oh, this is so beautiful. I love the way the red stands out against the rest of it.

  4. Barbara November 18, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    What a beautiful church – love the architecture of this one – simple but grand in its way – and as Shari said the old stone fence adds to the tone of the whole image. Love how you’ve set this against the sky. Beautiful shot Mindy… thanks again for sharing your beautiful town. It’s such a treat to visit every day!

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      Thank you so much for going on the tour with me, you are too sweet!

  5. Celina Wyss November 18, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    This is gorgeous. I think you captured it beautifully. I love the red doors and the orange glow in the windows.

  6. pearlsandprose November 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Such beautiful architecture, a great find. Wonderful shot.

  7. BILL November 18, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    You live in an amazing place!! WOW.. Looks like a hand painted postcard from the early 50’s. Beautiful!

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Aw, thank you Bill, you are awesome! We are lucky to have some very old and beautiful buildings around here.

  8. Swapmeet Louie November 18, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    I’m with Bill… you must live in a pretty amazing place with all those coolio churches around. All the churches around my area are modern and not quite as interesting to look at.

    Unless you count the one held in a bucket of pickled pears.

    That’s a gorgeous picture… a grand sight for sure!

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      They are gorgeous but I would still take your weather. Yes indeed Cali would look great on me :)Thank you!

  9. Kerri November 19, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    WOW! Awesome capture! I bet it is gorgeous on the inside too!

    • mindymilburn November 19, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Thank you! I wish I could have gone inside but it was closed. Maybe next time!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

