Day 225 – Line ‘Em Up

15 Nov

Ah the fall trees, I will be so sad when they are all gone. I couldn’t resist this pretty row of trees along the side of the road with the beautiful sky framing them. I know I have said this a million times but I could live in fall weather forever. I honestly can’t believe it is almost Thanksgiving though, this year has flown by and I am not sure where it went. Any of you feel like that?

Today was a rather difficult day for me. Through the last several years I spent a lot of time traveling to shows and I met a lot of wonderful people. Some of them I only met once and some have become my family, but most of them I keep up with in one way or the other through facebook or twitter. It is like an extended network of friends and family that I never thought I would have but feel so grateful for.

One of the women that I met several years back passed away this week very suddenly and it has hit me in a way I didn’t expect. She was a wonderfully sweet woman, and although we weren’t close friends she was always fun to talk with and she was incredibly kind to me and my sister when my sister was diagnosed with breast cancer. I will never forget that  and I hope her family has that type of kindness with them now as they go through this very difficult time. It was the suddenness that really hit me hard and of course that type of tragedy always makes you take stock. I hate that it takes something like this to make us appreciate those around us but I am also grateful to have the opportunity to let those I care about know just how much I love them.

We aren’t promised tomorrow so remember to end your day with kindness!

 

 

 

29 Responses to “Day 225 – Line ‘Em Up”

  1. Shari November 15, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Breathtaking. Look at those colors.

    So sorry for your loss. It never is easy.

    Gal at work passed away suddenly a couple years ago. She was there in the morning…… I was coming down with the flu. She asked if I was ok that morning and I told her not really. We did inventory and went home later that day. A couple hours after getting home the phone rang. It was news that Mary Ann had died.
    I sat there bawling and thinking about that conversation from the morning. Was she feeling ill that morning? Did she think she was coming down with the flu and blow it off. That thought really messed with my head for a good long time…………still does to a degree.
    Hang onto the good memories and say a prayer for her loved ones *hugs*

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      Thank you for sharing that story Shari, it really is a wake up call when something like this happens. It really shook me, but I know she will be remembered for the wonderful woman she was!

  2. Jackie November 15, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    Beautiful blog and beautiful photo. Just like you. I love you Babe.

  3. Swapmeet Louie November 16, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    I’m sorry for your loss… you’ve made some wonderful friends through the years… keep them in your heart. I’m always amazed on how you are able to keep in touch with so many people from all over the country. I have difficulties keeping in touch with just a handful of people.

    The picture is lovely! The colors… wow! This pic really does put me in Thanksgiving mood… but I don’t think I can live in fall weather forever. I need GREEN. Like money. Ok, I could live in fall weather if I had a lot of money.

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Thank you for the comments on the photo you are so sweet. And yes I made some wonderful friends, you included 🙂

  4. Terri Jacobson November 16, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    Mindy this is beautiful and such a sweet sentiment to go with it.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend.

  5. bonniegunkel November 16, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Beautiful blog and photo. I’m sorry for your loss.

  6. Barbara November 16, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Loss seems so hard at any time, but in fall it somehow hurts more, specially since you dislike winter so much Mindy. The wonderful thing for you is you have such great memories of your friend, her kindness and thoughtfulness… she lives on in those memories. Hold them close, not many people have such lovely memories.
    Your photo is a fabulous tribute to the beauty of friendship. I love that you have decorated her memory with such glorious colours and tall trees all in a row lie an honour guard.

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      You my friend have such a beautiful way with words. Thank you so much!

  7. Elizabeth November 16, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Ah, Mindy what a gorgeous shot. I love the variance of colors.

    Thank you for remembering Susan in your blog. She would have loved that. Susan always spoke so highly of you and your sister. She recognized you for the beautiful soul that you are.

    Love you Sweetie.

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      Love you too hun, I know you have a whole in your heart right now but remember we are all here for you!

  8. BILL November 16, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Well Miss Mindy….. It’s been a rough day for many of us around the country. Life is so random. No one is promised tomorrow. All the more reason to not sweat the small stuff and as you said, end the day with kindness.

    Your trees are beautiful! Fall is over, here in Upstate NY. Just a few stubborn trees, clinging on to a few last leaves. Life does move on.. as it should. But I have a new appreciation for my friendships today.

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:34 am #

      Thank you so much Bill, I like you have a new appreciation for those that I love and how important it is to let them know. It is amazing what we have created 🙂

  9. pearlsandprose November 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I think I could live in fall forever too. The trees are so lovely.

    Very sorry about your friend.

  10. Celina Wyss November 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    So sorry for the loss of your friend. I think this is a beautiful photo. The trees look so sad and bare when the leaves are gone, don’t they?

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:35 am #

      Thank you Celina.

      The trees do look so sad and winter leaves our surroundings looking like they are in mourning.

  11. Whitney November 16, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Great photo. I feel that way too about the year and fall going by so quickly. It’s hard to comprehend. I love how you end the post here: “We aren’t promised tomorrow so remember to end your day with kindness!” It’s so encouraging and motivating. So sorry for your loss!

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:35 am #

      Thank you so much Whitney, for your kind words and for stopping by 🙂

  12. Leslie November 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Gorgeous colors, brilliant. Sadness for your loss

  13. Kerri November 16, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    A LOVLEY image my friend!

    Yes, we need to cherish every moment and cherish those that we spend those moments with.
    Really sorry about your friend.

  14. Karen November 17, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    Fall splendor. What a beautiful photo you captured, Mindy. It is framed to perfectly. The gorgeous fall colors and blue sky with wispy clouds are so relaxing.

    Thanks for sharing your talent. Blessings for your friend’s family. You are so right. We never know the last time we might see someone.

    • mindymilburn November 17, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      Thank you so much Karen, I really appreciate your kind words about my work and about the loss of a wonderful woman!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 225 – Line ‘Em Up « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - November 16, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Morne Gouws, Shari Schultz. Shari Schultz said: @zandria1 Day 225 – Line 'Em Up: http://t.co/bzzlU9l […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

