Day 221 – Red Doors

11 Nov

Keeping with the architecture theme I went looking for some beautiful churches and boy howdy does Louisville have some beautiful churches. I want to go spend an entire day walking around taking photos of just churches but until then I will share what I was able to capture.

27 Responses to “Day 221 – Red Doors”

  1. Terri Jacobson November 11, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    I love the vibrant red.

    Very nice Mindy.

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      Thank you, that is what caught my attention from across the street 🙂

  2. shari November 11, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    Does it seem wrong that a church has red doors? Lol.
    Nevertheless, I think the doors are beautiful. The archway, the decorations, the windows, the whole sh-bang. Beautiful. The lighting is quite nice also.
    Churches are my favorite old buildings. A certain level of peace comes over me when I come across one when out and about.

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      Churches are one of my favorite old architecture too. They are so intricate and beautiful. I guess I didn’t think anything of the red doors because many many of the churches around here have them 🙂

  3. Swapmeet Louie November 12, 2010 at 1:00 am #

    I agree with Shari… it’s kind of weird for a church to have red doors! I love old churches as well, but for some reason they give me the heebie-jeebies. Spooky… like Quasimodo’s going to jump out from behind the pew and scream, “Boogah boogah!!!!!!”

    This doorway here looks rather spectacular, though. I’d love to see the rest of it!

    Sorry I’ve been gone for a bit… won’t happen again.

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      I do have a photo of the entire church, I will post soon:) Old churches only look scary if they are hidden in grown over woods with the windows busted out LOL. Again I didn’t think the red doors were odd, maybe you guys are just dirty minded lol

      And no worries, you are back, that is all that matters 🙂

  4. bonniegunkel November 12, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    Beautiful shot Mindy! And I can offer some information on why the doors are red. I came across the answer when I was researching a church here in Cincinnati.

    It’s because red doors traditionally mean “sanctuary” — the ground beyond the doors is holy, and anyone who goes through them is safe from physical (and spiritual) harm. Today, the red reminds us of the blood of Christ and that we are always safe in God’s care! (http://www.stthomas-wharton.org/About%20The%20Episcopal%20Church.htm)

    • Shari November 12, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      Thank you for the explanation Bonnie 🙂

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks for the compliment and the explanation. Again I didn’t know it was such an odd thing LMAO!! Lots of churches here have red doors. I never really thought about it but it is nice to know the history!

  5. Barbara November 12, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Thank you Bonnie for explaining those beautiful red doors – the church architecture is striking if traditional in itself, but those shiny red doors make me want to peek inside – I love the way you framed this picture Mindy – you could have taken the whole building from afar, but gave us instead what’s most important to many – the entrance. Well done.

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      Thank you, you always say the kindest things and I really appreciate that!

  6. Stasia November 12, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Wow – that’s amazing! I love how the whole building is grey and then the beautiful red doors. And the gorgeous windows! Nice find!

  7. pearlsandprose November 12, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Wonderful! Love the architecture, color and light in this one.

  8. kimhannigan November 12, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    I was going to offer some insight about the red doors but I see Bonnie already did that! 🙂 I was curious after some photos I had taken and wondered the same thing. This is beautiful Min. I actually am posting church pictures today also 🙂

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Ok seriously am I the only person on the planet that didn’t wonder about the red doors? LOL!!!

  9. Pattyann November 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh, I totally love this. The doors are fantastic.

  10. catherineross November 12, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    I’m just catching up on my favorite blogs having had a very exhausting week…this is absolutely stunning Mindy. I love the contrast of the bright red doors against the stone of the church. Great composition, lighting, color and texture. A real beauty!

    • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you so much my friend, funny thing…I was just catching up on your blog before I read this 🙂

  11. BILL November 13, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    I thought the

    A red door means “welcome”. However, now that I’m getting into a bit of staging, I’ve learned that there are many meanings to a red front door:

    In Feng Shui, a red door symbolizes the mouth of the home. By painting our door red (or any bright colour that stands out) chi (positive energy) is drawn to the house. It is the entry point in which abundance and opportunities find us.

    The Chinese consider red to be the lucky or sacred colour. Many doors are painted with a fresh coat of red just before Chinese New Year to invite good luck and happiness.

    In Ireland, a red door is supposed to ward off ghosts and evil spirits.

    In Catholicism, a red door represents that the blood of Christ has been smeared on it and that the area beyond the door is holy and sacred.

    Also, according to the Old Testament, the Jewish slaves in Egypt smeared their doors with lambs blood as a sign that the required sacrifice had already been made, and those homes would be passed over by the Angel of Vengence.

    Supposedly red doors were used as part of the Underground Railroad, and homes with red doors were “safe houses”.

    Albert Einstein painted his door red because he couldn’t recognize his house without it.

    And for homeowners, a red door announces that the house is paid for, free and clear.

    • BILL November 13, 2010 at 9:57 am #

      ok… my computer blinked.. and posted this before I was done. *#&^$(@!!!

      What I was going to say was that I thought red doors on a church was weird also… so I looked up the meaning…

      • mindymilburn November 13, 2010 at 11:25 am #

        You make me laugh!!! You always make me laugh. Thank you for all the explanation, it is so interesting to see what it means in different cultures and parts of the world.

  12. Susan November 14, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    You always frame the pictures just right. Love this one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Day 221 – Red Doors « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - November 12, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Morne Gouws, Shari Schultz. Shari Schultz said: RT @zandria1 Day 221 – Red Doors: http://t.co/bvPvgy9 […]

  2. Day 273 – Another Red Door « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project - January 2, 2011

    […] I honestly had no clue how many of the churches in my area were sporting red doors until that first capture and following discussion about why churches have red doors. I didn’t know there was so much […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

