213 – Remnants of Summer

3 Nov

I saw the strangest thing while walking today, someone had fake flowers planted in the flowerbed in front of their home. Now I love flowers as much as the  next guy but seriously? That is some serious denial that fall is upon us!  Anyway, as I walked a little further (I had my iPhone with me to take photos) I came across some beautiful little blooms that were real and real pretty. This is something I will miss when winter gets here.

 

17 Responses to “213 – Remnants of Summer”

  1. pattyann November 3, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    We have people that grow fake flowers up here too. They really look odd in the snow. I love flowers, but much prefer the real ones instead of the fake. Yea, it is a little bit harder to grow them, but they are oh so worth the effort.

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:40 am #

      Well I guess fake flowers are more common than I though LOL! I am not a fan, I will wait for the real ones to come around again 🙂

  2. Terri Jacobson November 3, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I am still in denial that winter has to come at all.

  3. mindy November 4, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    this is the prettiest picture! i love how it’s blurry around the edge… great depth of field!

    and fake flowers!? oh please. that is really ridiculous! lol

  4. Barbara November 4, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    It truly does take all kinds of people to make up this old world including the ones who love fake flowers in their gardens – no muss, no cleaning up dead blooms, no fertilizing or getting rid of weeds, and no fun either I’m thinking… but your photo! Now THAT’s a picture to hold in my heart until spring… thanks Mindy.

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:41 am #

      That was so sweet! Thank you! And yes it does take all kinds LOL 🙂

  5. Kerri November 4, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    FABULOUS image! I have a Brown thumb but never thought of fake flowers … but actually I don’t think it is a bad idea …. that way you have color all year long 🙂

    I am VERY much in denial that winter may be upon us …. we have flurries in the forecast …. Hurry Up Spring!

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      I am a fan of color all year but so not a fan of fake flowers at all lol But then again I can’t keep any plant alive either so maybe I need to reconsider 🙂

  6. Shari November 4, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Have fake flower people around here also. They also leave seasonal decorations up much longer than my brain can take it. I suppose those 2 things go hand in hand. I swear some day that I am gonna walk over, un-hang the decorations, ring their doorbell, wait for them to answer the door and then silently hand them their decorations and walk away.
    The flower photo brings a smile to my face. Spring? Now? Please?

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      BWAH!!!! You are too funny! Who knew there were so many fake flowers out there growing in peoples yards!

  7. Leslie November 4, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Really like that shot. Hmm… fake flowers… now that’s an idea. Keep my fake flamingo, and fake garden gnomes and fake dead grass… no, wait, that’s real dead grass… company ;-P

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      LMAO!!! Your fake flamingo 🙂 Too funny!

  8. Margaret November 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Lovely photo of REAL flowers…. too funny about the fake flowers tho! I’ve seen that too, left me just shaking my head 🙂

    • mindymilburn November 5, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      That is what I did too, I did a double take and then just stood there for a second. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 213 – Remnants of Summer « Mindy's 365 Day Photo Project -- Topsy.com - November 4, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mindy, Leslie Lee and KerriFar, Shari Schultz. Shari Schultz said: RT @zandria1 213 – Remnants of Summer: http://t.co/vV2M8tU […]

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

