Day 206 – Extreme Home Makeover

27 Oct

About a week or so ago my sister told me that her company was going to do the catering one day for Extreme Home Makeover Home Edition and the first question out of my mouth was can I go and take photos? 🙂 I didn’t hear back from her until last night and she called and said that I could come but by that point I had a lot to do at work and hadn’t prepared to go so I said I would let her know but really didn’t intend to go.

Well, she calls me around 9 a.m. to tell me they are set up in the VIP tent right next to the house and they can see everything (including Ty who she has already seen as well) so needless to say I worked my butt off to get everything done during my work day and then headed over to Fairdale.

It was a great experience to see how many volunteers showed up to help this family and to see how hard the cast and crew were working and how insane it looked just 24 hours before the reveal. I left shaking my head thinking there was no way they were going to get this done, but in a few short hours they would be moving the family back in. One other thing that really surprised me is how supportive the neighborhood was. They had trailers and other vehicles parked in the neighbors yards as well as the makeshift tent where they built custom furniture. I can’t imagine what a nightmare it is to live on such a small street and try to drive through all of that on a daily basis but they all seemed very supportive and happy to have them all there.

I spent the entire day taking photos and starting at everything that was going on around me in awe and then I spotted this lime green and black hard hat. I though OH I need to take a photo of that so I started snapping this guy walking with another worker, then all of a sudden my attention went to the “other working” and I actually said out loud to myself “HEY that is Ty!” LOL IDIOT. I was shooting the other guy and the star of the show was walking right in front of me. So I readjusted my focus and got several more shots in and then I ran to tell Kathy I finally saw him.

After that I was about to head out to the bus to go back to our car when Kathy and I decided to walk over to the restricted area and see if we could get our photo made with him. He was very gracious and kind and thanked us, not sure what for but it was very sweet. After that happened we had to go back and get the rest of the Tumbleweed team to come see him as well so we all looked a little like stalkers for about five minutes but we didn’t care lol.

I stayed for about thirty more minutes taking photos and then I headed back home still amazed with all I had witnessed. I can’t wait to see the airing of the show because from what I have read this family is very deserving, as they all are, but it will be very cool to see the end result.

A great big thank you goes out to my sister and to Tumbleweed for inviting me to come along.

 

21 Responses to “Day 206 – Extreme Home Makeover”

  1. pattyann October 27, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Love your pictures and what a great opportunity for everyone involved. Isn’t it amazing what a group of people can do???

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Thank you so much, it really was an amazing site to see!

  2. shari October 28, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    Oh how cool! I always cry when I watch that show. They just aired a episode that was shot in WI.
    Psst…..Ty is cute 🙂
    Hard hats = mucho coolness.

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      I cry too that is why I was ordered to stop watching LOL! I cry at the drop of a hat though.

  3. Terri Jacobson October 28, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I had never even heard of Extreme Makeover before I went out to shoot the event in Salem. I loved every minute though, and like you I walked away with these incredible warm fuzzy feelings of appreciation and amazement over what they can accomplish.

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      Very much so, it is amazing. I used to watch the show all the time but I got so emotional I stopped lol.

  4. Susan October 28, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    What a great opportunity for you to shoot some cool pictures! It’s a wonderful thing they do for these families. Win/win all around.

  5. kimhannigan October 28, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    I’m so happy you got to go and what a great addition to your fabulous blog! I love Ty and the show…they do such wonderful things. The panoramic pic is my fav overall but for personal reasons I love the one right above it of Ty laughing 🙂

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks Kimmy, I love the one of Ty laughing too, he was just wrestling with the boy in the photo. It was so cute!

  6. Shirl October 28, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    What a great adventure!! I have a friend who helped build one of those houses. She said it was one of the most emotional thing she’d ever done.

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      I bet it is, so many people there to help out. Just amazing.

  7. bonniegunkel October 28, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    I totally agree with Kimmy that this is an awesome addition to your blog. It is fantastic that you were able to go and photograph this, and super cool of Ty to pose with you guys. Kudos!

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

      thank you and yes I was VERY happy about getting a photo with Ty lol

  8. Celina Wyss October 28, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    Wow! What a fun opportunity! Would love to see more of your photos from it.

  9. Kathy October 29, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    Wow! What a great day, I am so happy you got your work done so fast!!
    You amaze me with your photography! These pics remind me of how precious this day was.
    I love the smile on Ty you captured!

    Love you!

    • mindymilburn October 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      I am happy too sis, thank you for asking me to come along. LOVE YOU!

  10. Sandra Coyer October 29, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Wow Mindy that is great…..sucks you had to look at men in hard hats and work boots all day…..what a tough job:))))))))))))))))))))))OMG!!!!!!!!! YOU MUST HAVE BEEN IN 7TH HEAVEN!!!!!! GREAT JOB AND WHAT AN OPPORTUNITY:))))))) love ya!!!!

  11. Celina Wyss October 29, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Yes I am Mindy, 😉 Feel free to look me up on there.

  12. Jackie October 29, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Love it! What a great opportunity!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

