Day 203 – Walk For The Cure

24 Oct

Today my mom, my sister, my niece, and my brother all did the American Cancer Society “Making Strides Against Breast Cancer” 5K in downtown Louisville. It was a gorgeous day, a wonderful cause, and it was so moving to see all those people out there supporting such an important issue.

Cancer has affected so many of our lives and today we walked in honor of my father who lost his battle with cancer when I was five and my sister Kathy who is a survivor. The coordinators at the walk really made the survivors feel like the heroes that they are. They gave each of them a medal and then they added their names to the big birthday cake, they make a big deal when each one would come up to get their medals and gave them all hugs. Local radio stations turned out to hand out bottles of water, there were people all along the route cheering the walkers on, and as we crossed second street bridge all the cars that were driving passed under the bridge were honking and waving showing their support. It was at that moment that the tears came to my eyes and I felt overwhelmed with the magnitude of what was going on in that moment. Everyone was united for one cause and there was so much love and support surrounding us all.

If you ever get a chance to take part in one of these walks please do, it will be worth every second you put into it. My sister is still with me today because of the steps that medicine has made to detect and treat this disease and I am so thankful for that every single day.

 

My sister showing off her survivor medal

My sister showing off her survivor medal

 

Survivor Birthday Cake

Survivor Birthday Cake

 

Entering Second Street Bridge

Entering Second Street Bridge

 

Walking Across The Bridge

Walking Across The Bridge

11 Responses to “Day 203 – Walk For The Cure”

  1. Terri Jacobson October 24, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    This is beautiful Mindy.

    You are right, very touching and moving.

    • mindymilburn October 25, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      Thank you so much Terri, it really was a wonderful day!

  2. mindy October 25, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    wow. what an awesome experience.

  3. Bonnie Gunkel October 25, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I love the one of everyone entering the bridge. Wall to wall people gathered for a great cause. Awesome!

    • mindymilburn October 25, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      That was pretty awe inspiring to actually see so it is one of my favorites too 🙂

  4. BILL October 25, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I’ll bet the energy was amazing. Just found out yesterday that a good friend was diagnosed. Wednesday is the lumpectomy and then full biopsy. They said it was caught early but stil gives you that kicked in the chest feeling. Really shows how important the annual screening is.

  5. dpixel365 October 25, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    what an amazing experience it must have been. Wonderful photos

  6. lrlee October 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Great cause. Thanks for walking for all of us.

  7. Swapmeet Louie October 25, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    I’m so proud of you 🙂

  8. Shari October 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Awesome.
    Love the bridge shot. The birthday cake, what a wonderful idea!
    It is a overwhelming feeling, isn’t it? Surrounded by all the love and strength from survivors and the families. So glad Kathy has beaten this. I imagine she had quite the support team :).

    I loved doing the Susan G Komen Walk For The Cure.
    We were walking and reading t-shirts and notes written on signs and I was tearing up. Had to take deep breaths a few times. Here they ran out of t-shirts…….so many people turned out and they broke the attendance record.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

