Day 196 – Surprise

17 Oct

I guess we can now say we officially pulled off the surprise. If you read yesterday’s blog you know that we took my sister out for girls night out for her 50th birthday but what she didn’t know is that we were throwing her a surprise party last night. I thought for sure she was going to find out because there are a few folks in the family that just can’t keep a secret but she swears she had no clue.

It was such a wonderful night, it even topped our girls night. We had a buffet of fantastic food, her favorite desserts, a DJ (my awesome uncle), photo collages of her growing up, a board dedicated to everyone tell her how much they loved her (equipped with messages from all of her out-of-town friends who couldn’t make it), a video montage, yummy sangria, dancing, and even a fall themed photo corner for everyone to get their pictures made (and yes I was volunteered to do the photographing LOL). My mom went all out with the fall theme decorations and the placed looked beautiful. Have I mentioned that we seriously have the most amazing mom in the entire universe?

It was a perfect night and she was so happy. Family and friends all showed up to show her how much we love her and I know she felt every ounce of it. We all cried when she walked in and she was overwhelmed, then we spent the rest of the night having as much fun as we could possibly stuff into one evening. It took a lot of work and help to pull of this shindig, mostly by my mom,  but we would all agree it was totally worth it.

The first photo is her pumpkin cake that my niece took, and the leaves you see in front of it are on small cupcakes surrounding the cake. The second photo is my mom and my sister in the photo corner 🙂

 

10 Responses to “Day 196 – Surprise”

  1. Jackie October 17, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    How fun! I am so sorry I was too late to participate, but I am thrilled it turned out great. Your mom and sister look happy and beautiful!

    • mindymilburn October 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Oh I am sorry too Jackie hun, I would have totally waited for you! We had a great time 🙂

  2. ladybugfamily October 17, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    oooh! happy birthday to your big sister! it looks like it was a great fall birthday. i love your photo corner 🙂

    • mindymilburn October 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 The photo corner was a bit hit, we had a blast!

  3. Shari October 18, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    🙂 🙂 🙂 :). Sounds like a blast.
    Love the cake! Did ya’ll carve the pumpkins in the photo corner?

    • mindymilburn October 18, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Yes we did 🙂 We always have fun together but this was a special day!

  4. Susan October 18, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    I’m so glad she enjoyed her surprise party! Your mom IS awesome, and what a good idea that photo corner was! Sounds like a fabulous party for a fabulous gal.

    • mindymilburn October 18, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

      It was pretty fabulous! Wish you could have celebrated with us!

  5. Kathy October 18, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    And I thought my birthday was over!
    Surprise!! I loved it!!
    What a wonderful week I had, a celebration to last a life time!
    The photo corner was absolutely a brilliant idea and I can’t wait to see all the pics you took of some of the most wonderful people in the world.
    The one above is melting my heart right now!
    God creates miracles in mothers. Our mother is absolutely the best. How could I be so blessed!
    My baby sister is just as spectacular!
    I love you!

  6. Swapmeet Louie October 20, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    That cake looks SO good.

    Thank you for sharing the night with us. It’s so good to hear about families like yours…. I know you know how lucky you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

