Day 192 – Ring of Fire

12 Oct

This isn’t a ferris wheel but some smaller version were the people are enclosed in a little cage that spins as the whole thing goes around. I seriously can’t remember the name of it! LOL. I am getting old I guess.  I loved the results, but let me just say that long exposure is very hard when you do not have a tripod and are trying not to breathe or move. I would have gotten a better result with the right equipment but I am happy with the one I was able to capture.

 

20 Responses to “Day 192 – Ring of Fire”

  1. Laura October 12, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    Outstanding!

  2. Shari October 13, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    You got a good shot. How do I know this? I am a little nauseaous looking at that pic. Well done.
    I used to ride these things? Yikes.

    • mindymilburn October 14, 2010 at 10:46 am #

      LOL!! That made me smile, thank you. I still like to ride these things 🙂

  3. Swapmeet Louie October 13, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    That’s just a ring of fury!!!

    Makes me scared of ferris wheels now LOL

    Great shot!

    • mindymilburn October 14, 2010 at 10:46 am #

      It isn’t a ferris wheel so you are safe 🙂 But it is fun!! Thank you!

  4. Susan October 13, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    Are you sure that’s not just a giant peppermint candy?

  5. Stasia October 13, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I like it! Makes it look like the thing is going at a speed of R17.

    “R is a velocity measure, defined as a reasonable speed of travel that is consistent with health, mental wellbeing and not being more than say five minutes late. It is therefore clearly an almost infinitely variable figure according to circumstances, since the first two factors vary not only with speed taken as an absolute, but also with awareness of the third factor. Unless handled with tranquility this equation can result in considerable stress, ulcers and even death.
    R17 is not a fixed velocity, but it is clearly far too fast.” – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

    • mindymilburn October 14, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      HAHA I was just talking about those books two days ago 🙂

      You make me smile.

  6. Dijea October 13, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Great shot! Excellent!

  7. lrlee October 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Wow! Amazingly steady for a handheld long exposure!

    • mindymilburn October 14, 2010 at 10:48 am #

      🙂 Thank you…I had to do it three or four times to get a good one. OH and not breathe lol

  8. Kerri October 13, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    This is awesome! I used to love these rides when I was younger … not so much anymore 🙂

    • mindymilburn October 14, 2010 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you Kerri, I actually still like them 🙂

  9. catherineross October 14, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    I love the bright colors and movement in this photo…terrific work Mindy!

  10. Fernando October 16, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Adooooooooooooooooooooooro! Genial!

  11. Allison October 20, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Wow, Mindy!!! You did that handheld??

    Awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

