Day 186 – Heroes

6 Oct

During the fall season with all the festivals, parades and the like the NAFD is constantly helping out with these events and showing a strong presence in the community, in addition to the heroic work that they have to do on a daily basis. Every time I see a fireman I feel grateful and humbled. They are true heroes and I don’t think we take the time often enough to thank them.

 

19 Responses to “Day 186 – Heroes”

  1. Terri Jacobson October 6, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Very nicely shot. I love the post-processing.

  2. shari October 6, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Really like this shot. The FD here had a open house this past Sunday, so many people turned out for it. Does a heart good to see a community supporting these guys and gals.

    • mindymilburn October 7, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks Shari, it really is good to see people that work for our safety and risk their own lives get the support they deserve.

  3. Swapmeet Louie October 7, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    I agree… those who serve the public never get enough credit or thanks. That’s a powerful picture… it’s a great reminder of what we should do the next time we see a firefighter.

    I actually know a firefighter in San Diego. He’s really a humble guy who just enjoys what he does… he amazes me with his dedication.

    Lovely pic, Mindy!

    • mindymilburn October 7, 2010 at 8:18 am #

      Thank you so much.

      I work with the NAFD on a daily basis and just like your friend they all love what they do and are all very humble about it.

      They Mayor just gave out a few commendations to three firefighters who ran into a burning building to save someone, it just gives me chills to think about it and they act like it is just another day on the job. So humbling.

      • Swapmeet Louie October 8, 2010 at 2:59 am #

        I tip my hat off to every firefighter. I’ve never willingly run into a burning building, and I hope I never have to. The courage these people have is so inspirational… and they probably don’t think twice about it.

  4. Susan October 7, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    That’s a great shot! God bless firefighters and all they do for our communities.

    Okay, on the ground that looks like pants with a belt, a dark t-shirt thrown over them to the right and shoes sticking up. Did you spot someone running around in undies?

    • mindymilburn October 7, 2010 at 8:19 am #

      Thank you:)

      And this makes me so happy that you noticed…no there wasn’t anyone running around in undies, why you ask, because that brown shirt you see, is in fact undies HAHAHAHAHAH!!!! We laughed so hard about that.

      • Susan October 7, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

        WHAT??? So did you get a picture of a firefighter running around with his hose hanging out?

  5. bonniegunkel October 7, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    First of all, fabulous sentiment, thanks for reminding us all that we need to be more aware of things and people we should appreciate. Second, this shot is incredible!! Did you ask them to set it up for you, or did you just happen to catch such a great shot randomly?

    • mindymilburn October 8, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      Thank you Bon, this was a random shot, I don’t have that kind of pull to set this stuff up LOL.

  6. Dijea October 7, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Wonderful and emotional photo.

  7. Kerri October 7, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    An awesome image! I think it is perfect!

  8. Beth October 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Not to mention they are HOTT!!!!

    The comment about the undies cracked me up. I can’t beleive they were just laying around on top of some boots. So funny. Awesome shot your amazing 🙂

    • mindymilburn October 8, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      LOL, you make me laugh! Thank you for thinking I am awesome!

  9. SHAZnyc October 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I love the tones.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

