Day 177 – The Last Butterfly

27 Sep

One of the things I will miss about summer are the butterflies. I had so much fun chasing them around this year. There is this bush right beside the sidewalk on the way to my car and I would go and look at the butterflies that seems to live there every single day. It was always hopping with life and for the past week I haven’t seen anything flying around the back area, and then I spotted this hold out.

He is refusing to accept that the seasons are changing and while it is time for him to go I was happy to see him. I can’t imagine he will be back since the temperature is seriously dropping here but I thank him for making one last appearance for me (yes I like to think nature revolves around me…so??) I will miss seeing these beautiful creatures but I know they will be back next year and their little bush will be waiting for them.

13 Responses to “Day 177 – The Last Butterfly”

  1. shari September 28, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Lovely. I have not seen too many butterflies around here this year:( A few small ones over by the nearby lake but that is it.

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 9:55 am #

      Really? They were so thick here this year, I have never seen anything like it.

  2. Swapmeet Louie September 28, 2010 at 4:04 am #

    What a great tribute to not only summer but nature. Love the text here. Made me almost kinda glad summer is still apparently here.. The weather has been in the 100’s.

    Really enjoyed this series. Thank you for the smile πŸ™‚

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 9:56 am #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I am not sad to see the 100 degree temps going away but I will miss things like the butterflies and flowers. I am glad I could make you smile πŸ™‚

  3. Stasia September 28, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I think this may be your best butterfly picture yet. Beautiful colors!

  4. bonniegunkel September 28, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Love this! I have seen a few lingering butterflies here too and you know I am holding onto summer as long as I can!

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 9:57 am #

      LOL, some people like summer and I would too if it weren’t so darn humid LMAO!!

      Thank you

  5. Kerri September 28, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Oh, I will miss them to! A Beautiful capture my friend!!

  6. dpixel365 September 29, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I couldn’t agree more!! Luckily I captured quite a few photos.
    This is such a beautiful capture..

  7. catherineross September 29, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this one!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

