Day 176 – One Left Standing

27 Sep

This is an old historic building on River Road in Louisville, or what is left of it anyway. I wish I could tell you the story behind it but for the life of me I can’t remember. All I can tell you is all that is left is the front of the building and the stairs leading up to it. The roadway was then built around it, oh and it is really frakkin’ cool to look at.

15 Responses to “Day 176 – One Left Standing”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 27, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    I can just see you walking through that from door… you’d take a look around and say, “This is the BIGGEST house EVER!”

    Like how you used B&W on this one… you can feel the age.

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      LMAO how stupid do you think I am πŸ˜‰

      It really is a cool building and I am glad you appreciated the b&w I thought it looked so much better with that feeling to it.

  2. Fernando September 27, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Mindy, I know I have not commented on your photos, but keep following, and loving it! Beijos!

  3. Kerri September 27, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    You captured it wonderfully!

  4. P.T. Cream September 27, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    i wish that the story behind every fascinating piece of americana was written down somewhere…especially when it comes to things like this. these photos do a great job of invoking mystery and myth.

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      There was something posted there and I thought I took a photos of what it said for reference but I didn’t. Maybe when I got back I can get the whole story πŸ™‚

  5. shari September 28, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    Love the black and white. So much to look at

  6. lrlee September 28, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Very interesting and perfectly captured in b&W!

  7. Susan September 28, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    How does that stand? How is is protected? The windows are intact and it looks to be in decent shape, as opposed to the rest of the building which is in no shape. How odd. Look at the beautiful detail! Okay, I want to know all about it.

    • mindymilburn September 29, 2010 at 10:02 am #

      I wish I could tell you lol!! The window panes are there but no glass and the front is still in very good shape I just have no clue what happened to the rest of the building. I will try to figure it out πŸ™‚

  8. Dijea September 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Gorgeous building – what a find.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

