Day 173 – Journey

24 Sep

I was watching the premiere of “Grey’s Anatomy” tonight and they were all dealing with the big dramatic ending that happened last season where several characters lost their lives. The whole episode was about how people cope with trauma and the effects it can have positive or negative. Everyone had their own story  but the running theme was that life is short. Call it a cliché but it is also true. I think I have a pretty good time living life and enjoying it most of the time but I don’t want to be one of those people who wake up in thirty years and wonder why I didn’t do something  or why I stuck with something that wasn’t good for me. Because in the end, life is short and living is the only way to celebrate the gift we so often take for granted.

One of my favorite quotes involves the line “dance like nobody’s watching” and I hope I can do more of that. Forgive the petty fights, move on if the situation or person isn’t good for your happiness, and love. If you can do just that last one you will have lived. We don’t get a second run at this so make it count 🙂

I chose the shot of the tracks because it reminds me of being on a journey, the tracks continue as far as you can see but possibly even further. There are peaks and there are valley’s, and all you can do is hold on tight and enjoy the ride!

19 Responses to “Day 173 – Journey”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 24, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    Ah, you KNOW I’ll love this shot!!!!

    I had no idea Gray’s Anatomy was still on. Haven’t they all drama’d themselves out by now? You’d think they’d look at each other one day and say, “Dude… what’s our problem?”

    You’re right – we only get one shot at this (as far as we know), and you have to make the most of it. This pic is a great representation of what you’re talking about… very very cool 🙂

  2. mindymilburn September 24, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    You did cross my mind as I was taking it and editing it 🙂

    Yes Grey’s is still on and it is better than ever! Such a good show. And thank you 🙂

  3. Susan September 24, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    “Life should be a journey for your heart, in and out like the tide” .. sorry, it had to be done. 😉 That picture is all kinds of awesome and a great compliment to your blog.

    • mindymilburn September 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      HEH, it was appropriate! Thank you :-*

    • BILL September 24, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      YUP!!!!

  4. bonniegunkel September 24, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    I really like this! Did you do any photo editing on it besides the b&w?

    • mindymilburn September 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Before I converted it I upped the saturation and then added a sharp mask after. Thank you!

  5. Bonnie September 24, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Every journey begins with the first step….nice shot 🙂

  6. Toemailer September 24, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    I like the tracks!

  7. Dijea September 24, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Love the way the clouds POP. Great shot.

  8. dpixel365 September 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Nicely chosen words!!! Great image..

  9. Shari September 24, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Who knew railroad tracks could help express so much? They really do, tho, don’t they? Great shot.

  10. BILL September 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    You have no idea how badly I’d love to retire right now, and get away from this place…. but then I come to my senses, and remain thankful that I have a good paying job when so many are loosing everything.
    It’s a tough balancing act.
    So you have COOL TRAIN TRACKS and GROOVY CLOUDS… if there was a BARN on the side of the tracks, it would be the ULTIMATE picture!!! LOL

  11. Kerri September 24, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Excellent post! And a wonderful image as well!

  12. ebeth420 September 25, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I read the blog before looking at the picture. When I finally got to the picture I actually got tears in my eyes. Mindy, you know I love your blog, but this is, in my opinion, the best one yet! I can’t exactly explain why it moves me so much but it does! Thank you for your art, my dear!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

