Day 171 – The Coffee House

22 Sep

When I need to work on a project, read, write something, or even just think I have two modes. The first is to lock myself in my apartment and not talk to anyone and become a recluse until I get what I need to get done, or think about what I need to think about. The other is to go out and be around people and allow their energy to be a positive influence or just the right amount of distraction to finish what I need.

Tonight it was option #2. I love Starbucks, well any comfy coffee-house for that matter. Creative people tend to gather there, whether it is just trendy or they are looking for the same atmosphere I am seeking, I couldn’t care less, all I know is that it is such a good vibe to work or think in. I can’t take a break and do some people watching (which I love to do) I can get inspiration and even comfort from having others around, I can get a yummy Caramel Macchiato, I can work without getting stuck in my own head and consumed with details. It is just a great place for me to get something done and so I spent the evening in my comfort zone.

Chris was there as well working on his writing and even though we barely talked it was still a nice evening. I took a couple ofย  shots with Hipstamatic on my phone because I knew I needed a photo for tonight so what better subject than my comfy place ๐Ÿ™‚

I had to post this computer loving photo that I took of Chris since he was so offended that I didn’t post it. It was his favorite. Any photo where he is being a ham is his favorite. He wouldn’t stop posing until I took it and then continued to pose well after LOL!

7 Responses to “Day 171 – The Coffee House”

  1. ladybugfamily September 22, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    oooh i too love my local coffee shop! it is so inspiring to work in there. i love the smells, the comforting sounds of people visiting quietly together, and the way i feel so connected to everyone.

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Exactly, you summed it up very well ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Shari September 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Mmmmmmmm Caramel Macchiato.
    LOL at your friend. He looks like he is saying, “My Preshhhhhhhhus” from Lord Of The Rings to his computer.

  3. dpixel365 September 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    ooh how cute!! Really cool Coffee shop photos luv..

  4. Karla September 22, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Funny you should bring this up, I have been spending alot of time at the local coffee shop with my little net book and my Large Java Chip Frap ๐Ÿ˜› Mike likes to go too for his special Pistachio Frap…but even if you are there with someone or alone it’s such a wonderful and relaxing place! Love the photos, I know exactly where you are at, I visit there frequent while in Indiana ๐Ÿ™‚ Chris looks like he is having a wonderful time posing for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Kerri September 22, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    My fave places – coffee shops and bookstores. Great images!!

  6. Terri Jacobson September 23, 2010 at 1:00 am #

    Wow, I never thought about hanging out there to get the creative juices flowing. Thanks, Mindy.

    I love Chris’ portrait.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

โ€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.โ€ Eccl 11:4 TLB

