Day 170 – A Chance Encounter

20 Sep

I haven’t looked for a butterfly to photograph in some time so when I randomly saw this little guy as I was walking through my yard I fancied that nature was telling me it wasn’t done yet πŸ™‚ I have no idea what kind of butterfly this is, I am sure some of you experts can shed some light on that for me but I thought it was gorgeous. I haven’t seen one with this design so I was excited about my chance encounter and I loved how the greens contrast with the orange and black (HEY maybe he is getting ready for Halloween!!)

The funny thing was he landed in the yard and just sat there for the longest time, he even let me walk right up on him and get close. Yes nature was definitely telling me something and who am I not to listen toΒ  nature.

20 Responses to “Day 170 – A Chance Encounter”

  1. mindy September 20, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    how beautiful! it’s so rare to have them just sit there. i think the butterflies around here are camera shy… or allergic to having their picture taken. i have to work super fast to get a good picture of them!

    i really love the design on this one’s wings. it’s so interesting.

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      I worked my butt off this summer trying to shoot butterflies so I was just as surprised myself πŸ™‚ It was so still for quite some time. It was a gift πŸ™‚

  2. Laura September 20, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful! And maybe the butterfly is a Bengals fan? πŸ˜€

  3. Terri Jacobson September 21, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    He’s a beauty for sure Mindy. You must wander through your yard more often. :o)))

  4. Shari September 21, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Gorgeous! The little fella is quite photogenic.

  5. Swapmeet Louie September 21, 2010 at 4:44 am #

    That’s a lovely shot! The green backdrop is such a great contrast to the colors of the butterfly!

    This is going to sound stupid, but I love how symmetrical that butterfly’s wings are!

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Not stupid at all, I am amazed at the symmetry on a butterfly. Just so gorgeous!

  6. Susan September 21, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    That is a beautiful one. It is amazing how all the dots and spots and lines are pretty much exactly the same. It was being slow? What happens to butterflies come fall and winter time? Uh oh.

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      It is quite beautiful. And DON’T say it LOL nothing bad happens to those pretties πŸ™‚

  7. Kerri September 21, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh Mindy ….he’s absolutely beautiful! You got a perfect shot of him! And I believe it is called a Red Admiral butterfly.
    Super post ~ how fitting for the last day of Summer!

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      I KNEW you would know what it was πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the compliment and for the wisdom!!!

  8. Steve Creek September 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    Great capture! I like it when they decide to stay still for awhile.

    • mindymilburn September 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      Thank you sir πŸ™‚ It was rare for sure!

  9. Fernando September 21, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Gostei muito!!! Fantastic! Beijo!

  10. dpixel365 September 22, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Gorgeous butterfly… Good shot of it.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

