Day 169 – Never Judge a Book

20 Sep

I can’t tell you how important books and reading are to me. Reading is knowledge, an escape, entertainment, and much more so when I saw the New Albany Housing Authority partnered with the New Albany Public Library to give books away during their function it spoke to my heart. I think it is so important to encourage children to read, to make books readily available, and to teach them the importance of enjoying all types of literature. For some people traveling will never be an option so they can experience different cultures through reading about them, for some kids it is the perfect way to learn about their history, and for some it will be an inspiration to take a writing class. The possibilities are endless and we should do everything we can to encourage it.

If you can’t tell I am very passionate about this subject and while I love having books on CD while I drive, or Kindle on my phone for when I fly, nothing will ever replace curling up in a comfortable chair with a good book in my hand being transported to a different world.

10 Responses to “Day 169 – Never Judge a Book”

  1. Cailtin September 20, 2010 at 1:16 am #

    I must say I am an avid reader and their is something about books that you cannot get anywhere else. We get to explore our own imaginations and not anyone else like directors of movies. We we read books we are our own directors and we can picture anything that comes to out imagination. When I read i can put myself in there or I can be an outsider looking in. I can be anything and in-vision anything. Books are beautiful and words are magnificent. I am not the best writer but I get more out of writing and reading writing that movies could ever do for me!

  2. Shari September 20, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I like the plural in the sign πŸ™‚ I have sadly gotten away from going to the library. May just have to check it out while on vacation. Thanks for the kick in the butt to do that πŸ™‚

  3. bonniegunkel September 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    See, you definitely don’t have camera block. You take a cart-full of books and make it look amazing. You are so my hero. πŸ™‚

    • Elizabeth September 21, 2010 at 6:41 am #

      Mine too!

  4. Kerri September 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    OH I feel the same way! I am TRANSPORTED when I read!!

  5. Ingrid williams September 20, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Nothing beats a good old fashion book. Great capture

  6. Swapmeet Louie September 21, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Right now, some Kroger manager is looking at this picture saying, “Motherf***er! That’s one of OUR carts!!!”

    I couldn’t agree with you more on your post… I could try, but I would fail.

    • Elizabeth September 21, 2010 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks for giving me my first LOL moment of the day!

  7. Susan September 21, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    They shoulda stole one of Kroger’s shelves. πŸ˜‰ I love to read too, it’s a good thing they’re doing .. giving them away.

  8. Elizabeth September 21, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    I loved this blog. Not only do I adore the photo (what librarian wouldn’t?) but your passion for reading seems to rival your love of photography?

    Do you know about Dolly’s Imagination Library Program? I thought you might find this interesting….
    http://www.dollysimaginationlibrary.com/about.php

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

