Day 166 – Birthday

17 Sep

Another birthday has come and gone (I still have the rest of the month right?) and for those of you that don’t know me I really like to celebrate me lol! I have never  understood people who get depressed on their birthdays or want to pretend like they don’t have any after a certain age. I will celebrate until I can’t get up to celebrate and then I will have a party anyway.

I usually do a big birthday extravaganza with all my out of town girls and we have had some serious fun in the past but this year was pretty low key. I spent it with my family and it was exactly what I needed. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful group of people that surround me.  We get together and it is comfortable, loving, and I always laugh. There isn’t anything in the world you can’t do with your family standing by you.

I got lots of goodies and lots of plants and flowers this year. Chris got me daisies, mom got be a pretty aloe plant, but my favorite has to be the Calla Lilies that Beth got me. It is my absolute favorite flower so I had to get a shot with my phone (oddly enough no one got out a camera the whole night) It was such a wonderful relaxing evening just being around the people I love and I thank them all from the bottom of my heart.

I also want to thank all of you  for the birthday wishes on facebook, twitter, and all the wonderfully sweet text messages. I felt very loved today.

14 Responses to “Day 166 – Birthday”

  1. Jackie September 17, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    Beautiful and dramatic!

  2. Swapmeet Louie September 17, 2010 at 2:37 am #

    Beautiful shot! The detail is exquisite!

    Glad you had a great birthday with your family 🙂

  3. BILL September 17, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    How cool that you got to spend a low key B’day with your family. Sounds like a great time. Love your pic of the lilly.

  4. Shari September 17, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Pretty! Glad you had a great day w/ your family.

  5. Stasia September 17, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    I love, love, love this picture. I can’t believe this is an iphone shot!

  6. Kerri September 17, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday!! Super flower!!

  7. ladybugfamily September 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    oh so pretty and happy happy birthday!!

  8. Fernando September 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Although we are far away, I want to wish you all the joy possible in this birthday! Aqui falamos, Feliz Aniversário! Kisses!

  9. Dijea September 17, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Beautiful shot! Happy Birthday!

  10. Beth September 17, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Awwww…..I am so gald you like the flowers. Calla Lilies are very pretty, they are one of my favorites also. I don’t know if you remember but my wedding bouquet was Calla Lilies, so was my invitations 🙂 I am glad you had a nice peaceful birthday dinner at moms. By the way I had my camera in my purse. Why didn’t I get it out???

    • Beth September 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Oh yea by the way this picture is so pretty I can’t believe you took with your phone…. Oh wait yes I can.

  11. Kathy September 17, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    Love the picture, it reminds me of your birthday. That flower sat by you all night!
    I love our family and I always enjoy when we get to spend time together…especially if Mom cooks!
    Happy Birthday Month Baby Sister!

  12. Terri Jacobson September 18, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    Beautiful calla lily. Happy Birthday!

  13. ebeth420 September 18, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Such a beautiful flower. How did you shoot (or edit) so that there is nothing else in the photo?

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

