Day 161 – Sunset by Moonlight

12 Sep

There was a really cool moment when we were standing on the pier at Venice Beach where on one side of us the sun was setting and casting gorgeous colors throughout the sky and on the other side the moon was already up and clearly visible in the colors from the sunset. It was like sharing night and day at the same time, if that makes any sense. It was a really beautiful moment. I love the photo I captured but it doesn’t do the actual experience any justice.

I have always said I would never want to live on the beach, just visit it, but at that moment on the pier I could have been convinced to build a hut right on the water. I think Kim and I have said this a million times over the last two years, but I REALLY need to live in California.

16 Responses to “Day 161 – Sunset by Moonlight”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 12, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    Isn’t it amazing how God paints the sky? That’s a gorgeous shot… living in Cali, I’ve seen some spectacular sunsets and I think I’ve seen one similar to this one. It’s quite a sight to take in and always leaves me breathless, no matter how many times I experience it.

    Look at those colors!

    • mindymilburn September 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      It was truly beautiful. I would never tire of it myself. Nature just has so much to offer.

  2. Susan September 12, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Beautiful! I love the ocean I’m glad I live close enough to get there easily. CA does have some gorgeous sunsets, huh?

  3. BILL September 12, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    WOW!! Amazing colors. If this picture does not do the experience justice, I can only imagine.. cause this picture is pretty special. One of my favorites!

    • BILL September 12, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      It occurs to me that this would make a great ALBUM COVER.. with your title SUNSET BY MOONLIGHT.

      • mindymilburn September 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

        OH thank you Bill, what a great compliment!

  4. P.T. Cream September 12, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    looks like monet painted the water.

  5. Shari September 12, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    I can’t stop looking at this photo. The colors are amazing.

  6. Shari September 12, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    I can’t stop looking at this photo. The colors are amazing!

  7. ladybugfamily September 12, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    this is a gorgeous picture. i love shots with the moon in them!

    • mindymilburn September 16, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      Thank you, I love the moon photos as well. I wish I could capture it more!

  8. Jackie September 13, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like this. It is amazing. Thanks so much for posting this gorgeous picture.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

