Day 158 – The Canals

9 Sep

While I was in Cali we got to spend an afternoon at Venice Beach, including the canals and I  can’t even express how pretty this area was. Again, I could have spent the entire day there shooting photo after photo until someone dragged me out or the residents called the police 🙂 I have to say thank you to my friend @jonyag for giving me directions to this gorgeous location.  Funny thing is, after I got home I rented “Valentine’s Day” and a few of the scenes were filmed at the canals, I yelled at the TV “OH I was just there” lol It is such a beautiful place.

With this photo I did a little retro edit on it playing with curves and contrast. I am not sure exactly what I was going for when I started out but I think I got the result I wanted. I am sure I will post more from the canals because I took a lot of photos that day it is just hard to choose!

18 Responses to “Day 158 – The Canals”

  1. Terri Jacobson September 9, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    This is beautiful.

    I love the color, the calmness.

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you, it really is a beautiful place.

  2. Jackie September 9, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Oh that is gorgeous!

  3. Swapmeet Louie September 9, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Love the colors of the boats! They add so much character to the whole shot. That must have been so peaceful walking around the canals. I can just imagine how happy you were looking around, taking photos, just enjoying the environment.

    Looking forward to more of these pics!

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

      I was definitely in my element. Thank you for compliment. I can’t wait to come back to Cali 🙂

  4. bonniegunkel September 9, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    Just beautiful!

  5. Susan September 9, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    Ack! I love this one! Since my son moved, I really miss visiting CA, there’s so much beauty there. This looks like an amazing spot!

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      It is a beautiful spot Susan, you would LOVE it!

  6. ladybugfamily September 9, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    really really beautiful! the movie “because i said so” has some shots that look a lot like the canals as well.

    i love that movie!

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Thank you, I haven’t seen “Because I Said So” I might have to rent it!

  7. Shari September 9, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    I can totally imagine getting *lost* there! Beautiful. I love the coloring and the reflections.

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Thank you Shari, it is definitely a place you could walk around for hours and still find more beauty there.

  8. kimhannigan September 9, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    This makes me smile cause I remember how much fun we had that day! This picture really captures the canals beautiful. It’s so colorful and tranquil. You would think with all the people that walk through there it would lose some of that peaceful feeling but I bet it never does! Can’t wait to see more.

    • mindymilburn September 9, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

      It was the best day!!! Thank you for sharing it with me my friend!

  9. BILL September 9, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    I hope you will post more pictures from here. What an amazing place!!

  10. Beth September 9, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Again what have I told you about scanning postcards and acting like you took the picture. 🙂

    This looks like a very peaceful place. I really like this ‘postcard’. How much did it cost?

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

