Day 153 – Venice Beach Pier

4 Sep

Staying with my silhouette theme I am posting a photo I took close to sunset at Venice Beach of the pier. I love this shot. I like the sun reflecting off the water under the pier, the flag that is the only real pop of color and of course the people milling around on the pier. I am really diggin’ this silhouette themeย  and I might just have to do a few more of these at home.

Hope you guys have a happy and safe holiday weekend!

13 Responses to “Day 153 – Venice Beach Pier”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 4, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    I LOVE that the flag is the only color thing popping out!!!! Great shot! I must say that this is perhaps one of my favorite ones so far from Cali. That flag totally makes the pic. Nice!!!!

    • mindymilburn September 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      Thank you, it is one of my favorites too. So much going on but not so much that you get distracted…well at least I think so ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Swapmeet Louie September 4, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

        Well, the thing about this shot is that everything seems to be framing the flag. I think that’s so cool. Did you see this while taking the shot or was it a surprise on the color of the flag against everything else?

  2. Susan September 4, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Surprisingly, I’m really digging this theme too. You make it interesting. The fisherman was my favorite. Did you make that flag “pop” or is that the way the picture came out?

    • mindymilburn September 4, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      I am quite surprised, that is a compliment!!

      The fisherman was my favorite too ๐Ÿ™‚ and no I didn’t make the flag pop, that is how it looked in the photo ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Dijea September 4, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Love this. Excellent use of light/shadow.

  4. ladybugfamily September 4, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    i love the way the sun rays fan out around the sun. it’s so lovely.

  5. Laura September 5, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    This shot is excellent. Love that the overall color is the same as sand. I’m a huge fan of this whole theme. Silhouettes are so interesting and this one ranks as one of my favorites you’ve taken for this blog.

  6. Karen September 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Spectacular, Mindy. Like Swap said, the flag just make it. Brought a tear to my eye.

  7. bonniegunkel September 5, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    I am loving this theme as well. I absolutely love how the flag pops in this one. So awesome!

  8. DPIxel September 9, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    Great Silhouette shot…
    Love the colors

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

โ€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.โ€ Eccl 11:4 TLB

