Day 151 – Wipeout

2 Sep

Sticking with my silhouette theme I had to share this photo that makes me laugh every time I see it. I intended to get the shot, just not the shot as it is. I saw this little boy running into the waves with his boogie board and then he would just sit there on the board and float around. He was directly under the sun so I knew it would turn out to be a pretty good silhouette shot so I stood there and waited for him to run back out so I could get the shot. I panned with him as he ran not really knowing what I was going to take a photo of, only this time he jumped on the board, plunged head first into the water, hit a wave and flew up into the air.

Luckily I had the camera trained on him the entire time and was able to capture the moment he flew up into the air. I kept looking back at the photo all day and laughing. He was having so much fun and I am so happy I caught that moment on my camera.

15 Responses to “Day 151 – Wipeout”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 2, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    Loved this shot when I first saw it, love it even more now! It’s like his left leg is a huge fin or something LOL!!!!

    Great pictures, Mindy! You’re on a roll! (of film) HAHAHA!!!!

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      Hardy har har huh! 🙂

      Thank you, I am trying to get better, it doesn’t always come across but I am trying 🙂

  2. Susan September 2, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    What a great action shot! I bet the kid would love to see it. Was the water chilly? I’m always surprised at the coolness of the ocean on the west coast. In my mind it should be warm like FL or the Carolinas.

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      The water was very cold, as I was kindly reminded when I went to close to the edge and it about took my shoe out to sea with it lol

      Thank you!

  3. bonnie September 2, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    It’s a really cool action shot. I spent some time just looking at it trying to figure it out–LOL. It does look like he was having fun!

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you Bonnie 🙂 He definitely was having a good time.

  4. ladybugfamily September 2, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    lol! this is a fun shot! that’s what i love about photography… you never know what you’re going to get!! (well sometimes you do, but the surprises are the best!)

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Isn’t that the truth lol I knew I wanted to shoot him, doing something, but I had no clue LOL

  5. Fernando September 2, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    You want to know? I love this photo. Congratulations beautiful shot that got is fantastic! Beijos!

  6. Stasia September 2, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    Wow! What an awesome shot!! That’s one that is just lucky!

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      Thank you!!

      I like to think I had a little to do with it since I had enough wits about me to pan with him and keep shooting 😀

  7. Mitzs September 2, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Thats a great shot hun. It would seem you both were having a blast.

  8. Jackie September 2, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Incredible shot!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

