Day 150 – Fisherman

1 Sep

After posting the birds photo I decided to stick with the silhouette theme for the rest of the week. I have wanted to do more silhouette shots because I love the look and feel of them and fortunately on this trip I had several opportunities. The photo I am posting tonight is hands down my favorite. I knew I wanted this shot, I stood and waited for the sun to hit the right height and I am sure this guy was probably wondering why I was staring at him for like 15 minutes πŸ™‚

I am so happy with the results and I love when I love one of my own photos! Which means you guys probably won’t like it LOL! That always happens with the ones I think are great, they get a “meh” response and the ones I think are “meh” get a great response.Β  A friend pointed out to me when I showed him this shot that you can even see the fishing line in it and it made me love the photograph even more. I hope you enjoy it!

30 Responses to “Day 150 – Fisherman”

  1. Swapmeet Louie September 1, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    I absolutely LOVE this shot. It was worth waiting for not only for you but for us as well. Thank you for being so dedicated to your craft.

    LOVE this shot. LOVE IT.

    • mindymilburn September 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked it so much, I kinda knew you would.

  2. Swapmeet Louie September 1, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    I bet you didn’t have to do much post-production on this… nothing drastic?

    That shows just how good the original is. THAT is photography, in my book.

    • mindymilburn September 1, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      I didn’t do anything to it…BUT I thought you were a fan of post production?

      • Swapmeet Louie September 2, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

        I’m a fan of post, sure, because my pics usually always need it πŸ˜‰

        Best pics are the ones that you don’t need to do squat to it. That’s just my humble opinion. It’s like a song that stands completely on it’s on with just voice and one instrument. That’s how pure the art is.

  3. Allison September 1, 2010 at 1:10 am #

    Beautiful silhouette, Mindy!

    Welcome back!

  4. Susan September 1, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    That is one beautiful un-meh photo right there! You timed the sun perfectly! Even though it’s a silhouette, look at the details of the hat and facial features. And yes, you can even see the fishing line. I love it!

    • mindymilburn September 1, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I will say I took three photos trying to get it right so I didn’t do it on my first try πŸ™‚

      • Susan September 1, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

        Oh well then, pfft.

  5. ebeth420 September 1, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    There’s no ‘meh’ in this shot. It’s fabulous!

  6. Jackie September 1, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    You waited and got a perfect shot!

  7. Kimmy September 1, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    This looked amazing on your camera but WOW look at it now. This is what I would classify as a perfect shot. I don’t think there is a single thing that could make it look any better. The silhouette is perfect against that gorgeous evening sky. That was a great day!! πŸ˜€

    • mindymilburn September 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      It WAS a great day! We had such fun, I loved sharing all the photos ops with you πŸ™‚ Thank you dear for sharing it with me.

  8. dpixel365 September 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Perfect timing!! that’s an awesome sunset; Great silhouette

  9. Karen September 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Oh, I don’t know….I think I agree with you…this is a great shot Mindy.

  10. KJ September 1, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    No “meh” here. Fantastic photo!

  11. bonniegunkel September 1, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    WOW…just WOW!

  12. Uncleshag September 1, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    In my dreams that is the shot.

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

      Aw, thank you Unc πŸ™‚ You just made my day!

  13. BILL September 1, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I am amazed at your talent. That is picture perfect.. literally.

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

      Thank you so much Bill, you are always so encouraging.

  14. ladybugfamily September 1, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    oooh! love this photo. it’s beautiful!!

  15. Sharon H September 2, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    Absolutely perfect. Love the sun centered behind the person, and the subtle gradation of the mountains is knocked out! And mercy me, I CAN see the fishing line – my eyes aren’t as bad as I thought!

    • mindymilburn September 2, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

      πŸ™‚ lol you made me laugh!

      Thank you for the wonderful compliments.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

β€œIf you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

