Day 145 – Desolate

27 Aug

Ryan took Kim and I to see the wind turbines that are about 30 minutes from his house today. He told us that there were a ton of them and explained that they helped power Los Angeles so of course we expected several rows, what we got were HUNDREDS.

It was amazing, and the photo I got with my iPhone does not do the experience any justice. Rows and rows framed by mountains and a beautifully clouded sky. It was seriously unreal and I can’t wait to share some of the shots I got with my Canon.

Until then I hope you enjoy the one I captured with my phone. I had 4 shots to choose from and my wonderful amigo helped me narrow it down saying this shot was “epically desolate.” I figured that sounded pretty cool 🙂

10 Responses to “Day 145 – Desolate”

  1. Susan August 27, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Yikes, look at that sky! Are those the ones near Palm Springs? I’ve seen them several times and they are quite the sight to behold.

  2. Dijea August 27, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Interesting processing. Love the composition.

  3. Bonnie August 27, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Very cool!

  4. BILL August 27, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Wind Farms are big out west. I wish we would have more of them here in the East. (Pennsylvania has some and they are HUGE!!) Most areas are … “not in my backyard!!!” Great picture!!! (Glad you are having fun… say HI to Kim for me)

  5. ladybugfamily August 27, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    beautiful! i love the sky in this shot!!

  6. Jackie August 27, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Wow what a wicked sky. Bet the sands were really flying.

  7. Swapmeet Louie August 27, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    That is such an interesting shot. It really looks like a post-nuclear war scene… LOVE the color contrasts you’re getting from the iPhone pics. I really don’t know how you’re doing it, but they’re amazing!

    This shot grabbed my eyes immediately. It doesn’t even look real… even though the turbines aren’t anything out of the ordinary, they appear to be because of how you played with this pic. LOVE IT!

  8. Uncleshag August 27, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Martian soil – Earthen sky.
    Why will they never?
    The wires could get crossed in space.

  9. Terri Jacobson August 29, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    I love the mood.

    It is an amazing sight.

  10. Laura September 5, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

