Day 144 – Joshua Tree

26 Aug

Another wonderful day here in Cali but Kim and I realized that a. we can’t work a GPS and b. we can’t work a fancy home theater system 🙂

Yes, we struggled today but in the process of getting lost less than an hour away from home we found the opportunity to stop along the drive and take a photo of a Joshua Tree that fell victim to the latest fires in southern California.

The fires came frighteningly close to Kim’s brothers house and the area it damaged was massive but we found something beautiful along with the devastation in this tree that was budding new blooms.

10 Responses to “Day 144 – Joshua Tree”

  1. Swapmeet Louie August 26, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    That’s just an amazing picture! The blue sky looks terrifying behind the tree… and I love the contrast between the top and bottom of the pick! There’s so many aspects of this pic I dig… the car, the road, the colors, the 55 sign, and the fact that you took it on a frikkin’ iphone.

    I need an iphone.

  2. mode20100 August 26, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    A+ would read again

  3. Susan August 26, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    You took that with your phone? I love everything about it!

  4. Christopher Shiner August 26, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    So, I kind of heart this picture big time. You took it with your iPhone, and I just made it the wallpaper on MY iPhone. 😀 From the stark beautiful contrast with it’s surroundings, to the faint glow around the tree, and then just the tragic beauty of the tree itself, this is such a beautiful shot. To me, it is almost Van Gogh-esque in quality and tone, as if he had sat along the highway and decided he just had to paint this.

  5. BILL August 26, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Another AWESOME picture. .and yes, I HATE the fact that you are taking better pictures with your PHONE than I do with my “good” camera.

    JOSHUA TREE – Great subject matter and one of my all time favorite albums!!!

  6. ladybugfamily August 26, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    such a pretty picture.

    i so need an iphone…

  7. Jackie August 26, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I love this picture. It almost looks like a cartoon and I can just imagine the road runner zipping around the bend and down the road. Love that tree!

  8. dpixel365 August 26, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Another amazing photograph… Ilove the composition…

  9. Dijea August 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Really beautiful shot.

  10. Anne August 26, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    The curvature of the trunk reminds me of a Kokopelli. Very, very cool.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

