Day 143 – Are we in Italy?

25 Aug

There is a wonderful place close to Venice Beach called the canals and it literally made me feel a tiny bit of what it would be like to be in Italy. The canals run behind these beautiful homes with gorgeous flowers and greenery, quaint little bridges, and boats lining the docks.

The entire time we roamed around this area people were exploring the canals taking photos, walking their pets, or just enjoying the beautiful day. It was such a relaxing environment and I could have spent the entire day there shooting the scenery.

The photo I am posting tonight is of the canals and it was edited using a tilt shift generator to give it the look of a “miniature” scene. I would go into more detail about this but since I am posting from my phone it will have to wait till a later date.

Thanks to my friend Jon (@jonyag) for turning me on to such a wonderful place to photograph. Check out Jon’s amazing photography at http://www.jonyager.com/

7 Responses to “Day 143 – Are we in Italy?”

  1. ladybugfamily August 25, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    i’ve only seen this place on movies… but i love it! i would love to visit there someday… or even italy would be wonderful 😉

  2. BILL August 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    AWESOME!! Tiny Town… it really does look miniature!

  3. dpixel365 August 25, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    OH Mindy.. how beautiful.. Editing is amazing…
    I love this

  4. Swapmeet Louie August 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I swear that’s a set from the Thomas the Train show when it was cool and used actual miniatures! Great shot!!!!

  5. KJinDC August 25, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    I love the tilt shift generator. (not that Ive ever used it) Great photo though, I haven’t been to the canals in years but they still look as great as ever.

  6. Susan August 26, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    It’s a great shot with the reflections and colorful boats and such. I guess I’m just not artistic, because I’d love to see it without the blur.

  7. Toemailer August 26, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    There is a pleasant surrealism with this image, well done!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

