Day 137 – Everyday is a Winding Road

19 Aug

I love roads, I am pretty sure we have discussed this before, but I have to say it again. I love roads. When I see amazing shots of empty highways or dark roads I am so jealous that I wasn’t the one to take the photograph. I am always looking for that perfect road to shoot. I see it in my  head and one day I will find it but until then I will keep trying.

This shot was taken on the outskirts of town and as we drove by I saw the winding dirt road and I made my mom turn around. I love the leading lines and the curves you can just make out beyond the tree. There is something so hopeful about a road, it promises adventure, escape, and excitement. Maybe the fact that I love to travel influences my attraction to this subject and maybe it is just the symmetry that my OCD brain is drawn to, either way I am always on the lookout and I hope you enjoy the journey!

I used HDR toning on this shot, and while this technique is not for everyone I really like it and since this is MY blog you are stuck with it 😀

Black and White version of the same shot.

13 Responses to “Day 137 – Everyday is a Winding Road”

  1. Laura August 19, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Nice! The road just draws me into the photo and makes me wonder where the road goes from there.

    P.S. HDR toning is good with me 🙂

    • mindymilburn August 19, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Thank you Laura, I really like it too but I know some folks don’t care for it 🙂

  2. ladybugfamily August 19, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    this is a wonderful shot! it’s quite playful and honest. love it!

  3. Swapmeet Louie August 19, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    This is such a great picture! I love the tree in the middle… and the road just goes on and on. Great shot!

    But I have to say, tsk tsk on the HDR toning. I have no idea what that is, but for SHAME!

    I do approve of the title of this post, though… great song!

    • mindymilburn August 19, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      Thank you so much 🙂 and you are so silly! I will show you what HDR toning is when I see you.

  4. catherineross August 19, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    Wonderful shot Mindy! I love the vivid color and contrast which is perfect for this image 🙂

  5. Dana August 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    That is beautiful!!! I love it

  6. BILL August 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Not feeling the B&W. But the color one remindes me of those old post cards that were hand painted with water colors. Really AWESOME!

  7. Kerri August 19, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Super capture Mindy!!! I think the HDR works well with it! And LOVE the B&W one too 🙂

  8. Susan August 20, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    I swear, when I look up at a blue sky with white puffy clouds and green trees I think of you. So you can imagine how many times I think of you.

  9. Max Berkowitz August 20, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Nice HDR landscape shot Mindy. You should post your landscape photos to the Mobile Landscapes Group on Flickr. Reservoir_Dan [Daniel Berman] is the admin for the group.

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

