Day 135 – Black Moon Creeping

17 Aug

What you got buried In your backyard
What secret do you sleep with when the black moon come
What you got buried In your backyard
What secret do you sleep with when the black moon come


Man alive I love The Black Crowes. I have been obsessed with “Croweology” lately which came in on the end of a previous obsession with live boots from their shows, so it has been a Black Crowes kind of time in my world lately!  If you haven’t picked up “Croweology” yet you must do so immediately and thank me later, you can find it here on Amazon.

I came home from running errands tonight and the moon looked so cool that I ran upstairs and busted out the tripod to try to get a good shot. The moon is hard to photograph, for me at least, because I do not have the lenses necessary to get a good shot with detail but I thought I would give it a try anyway. I played with different aperture and shutter speed settings  and added a neutral density filter to help with the light on a slow shutter speed. I really like the results and it is about as good as I am going to get until I get a more powerful lens.

I get fascinated by the moon, well astronomy for that matter, because it is all so vast and unknown. If I had the right equipment I would spend much more time with the stars 🙂

And if you were wondering about the random Crowes love, the title of this blog is one of their songs. I knew I was going to use it as the title before I even started shooting!

You can click on the photo to see a slightly larger view.


16 Responses to “Day 135 – Black Moon Creeping”

  1. Swapmeet Louie August 17, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    What a great shot of the moon!!!! Wow! totally dig this one!!!!

    And yes, The Crowes are awesome.

  2. Jackie August 17, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    Love this shot! So cool!

  3. BILL August 17, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    WOW!!!!

  4. dpixel365 August 17, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Mindy, that’s a gorgeous shot!!

  5. ladybugfamily August 17, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    this is awesome!! i totally love it!!

  6. ladybugfamily August 17, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    just wanted to hop and on and let you know what photo editing program i use. i answered your query on my blog too, but in case you don’t look again…

    i love to use picnik.com for my editing. on the tree picture i used cross process. i love how it brings out the clouds and makes the sky so blue.

    anyway! just wanted to share that 😉 thanks for the kind words!!

  7. Beth August 17, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Are you freaking kidding me? This is amazing, and you think ‘its as good as your going to get’. You really must be crazy! I LOVE this picture. AMAZING!!!!

  8. Dijea August 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Amazing picture!

  9. catherineross August 17, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    WOW!! Awesome shot!!

  10. Mary B. August 17, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Nice shot Mindy! Moon shots are amazing.

  11. bonniegunkel August 18, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Girl please! I totally agree with Beth! I would be over the moon (haha, no pun intended) if I landed a shot like that!! AMAZING!!

  12. SHAZnyc August 18, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Great composition.

  13. Allison August 18, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Love, love, LOVE!!!

Leave a Reply

Being Social

Social media, marketing, photography and whatever else catches my attention.

Patricia Leever

Live. Breathe. Write.

cohort17

Dedicated to Cohort 17

Pearls & Prose

Photography. With some life thrown in.

ViewPoint Photographie

Schleefy's view of the world

All I've Got is a Photograph...

Capture What Counts Photography

Jeff Vrabel

Writer, editor, graying dad, Springsteen obsessive

Say Cheese

my view of life through a lens

Mary B Photography 365 Project

A photo a day, one day at a time

Photography by Mindy

I see the world in snapshots

Laura's Project 365 Photography Blog

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you will never get anything done.” Eccl 11:4 TLB

